12 SEP 2011 General News Brussels, Belgium

Battles in Brussels to decide remaining Diamond Race titles – Samsung Diamond League, FINAL

Samsung Diamond League logo (IAAF.org)Samsung Diamond League logo (IAAF.org) © Copyright

The second Final of the 2011 Samsung Diamond League takes place on Friday 16 September at the Belgacom Memorial Van Damme inBrussels, Belgium, where the remaining 16 Diamond Race Trophies and Prize Money will be distributed.


During the first Final at the Weltklasse Zürich last Thursday (8), the winners of the season long Diamond Race in 16 event disciplines were decided, and in the Belgian capital this Friday battle will be joined for the remaining 16 Diamond Race titles.


Each of the 32 overall event winners in the Samsung Diamond League receives a spectacular Diamond Race Trophy and US$40,000 in cash, a prize which acknowledges athletes’ season long consistency across the 14 meeting series which began in May.


Click here for Provisional Entry List, Timetable and Diamond Race Standings


Points


Points per event discipline at each meeting:


1st place - 4 points (Final: 8 points)

2nd place - 2 points (Final: 4 points)

3rd place - 1 point (Final: 2 points)


In case of equality on points, the number of victories decides, if there still is a tie, the better result at the Final decides. For an athlete to win a Diamond Race and its associated prize, and/or to be ranked in the final points standings, he / she must compete in the final (Zürich or Brussels) of their event discipline.


Samsung Diamond League - 2011


Doha QAT - Fri 6 May

Shanghai CHN - Sun 15 May

Rome ITA - Thu 26 May

Eugene USA - Sat 4 Jun

Oslo NOR - Thu 9 Jun

New York USA - Sat 11 Jun

Lausanne SUI - Thu 30 Jun

Paris FRA - Fri 8 Jul

Birmingham GBR - Sun 10 Jul

Monaco MON - Fri 22 Jul

Stockholm SWE - Fri 29 Jul

London GBR - Fri 5/ Sat 6 Aug

Zurich SUI -Thu 8 Sep

Brussels BEL - Fri 16 Sep