24 NOV 2000 General News

Nominations for the 2000 Athletes of the Year

Nominations for the 2000 Athletes of the Year

22 November 2000 - Monte Carlo - Due to the exceptionally late finish to the athletics’ season this year, the International Athletic Foundation requested the assistance of an international panel of experts in seeking the nominations for this year’s prestigious Athlete of the Year award. The final choice of Athlete of the Year will be made by the Council of the International Athletic Foundation, and the winners will be announced during the live TV transmission of the World Athletics Gala on Sunday, November 26.

The panel was composed of (In alphabetical order): Sergey Bubka (UKR) - World Record Holder for Pole Vault, Executive Board Member of the International Olympic Committee; James Dunaway (USA) - Freelance Track Correspondent for Track & Field News and numerous other publications, President of US Track & Field Writers Association; Istvan Gyulai (HUN) - IAAF General Secretary; Atsushi Hoshino (JPN) - Member of Japan Sports Press Agency, Kyodo News, IAAF Press Commission; Mike Hurst (AUS) - Sydney Daily Telegraph; Fekrou Kidane (ETH) - Director of International Co-operation, IOC ; Peter Matthews (GBR) - Editor of athletics statistics annual "Athletics 2000"; Robert Pariente (FRA) - Author, former Editorial Director of l’Equipe, and member of the IAAF Press Commission; Giorgio Reineri (ITA) - Director of IAAF Media & Public Relations Department; Roberto Quercetani (ITA) - Author, historian and correspondent for numerous publications including Track & Field News;

2000 Athlete of the Year Awards Nominations (In alphabetical order)


Virgilijus Alekna (LIT) - Discus Throw
Jonathan Edwards (GBR) - Triple Jump
Anier Garcia (CUB) - 110m Hurdles
Haile Gebrselassie (ETH) - 10,000m
Maurice Greene (USA) - 100m/200m
Michael Johnson (USA) - 400m
Robert Korzeniowski (POL) - 20km/50km Walk
Noah Ngeny (KEN) - 1500m
Erki Nool (EST) - Decathlon
Ivan Pedroso (CUB) - Long Jump
Angelo Taylor (USA) - 400m Hurdles
Jan Zelezny (CZE) - Javelin Throw


Stacy Dragila (USA) - Pole Vault
Heike Drechsler (GER) - Long Jump
Cathy Freeman (AUS) - 400m
Trine Hattestad (NOR) - Javelin Throw
Marion Jones (USA) - 100m/200m and Long Jump
Denise Lewis (GBR) - Heptathlon
Tereza Marinova (BUL) - Triple Jump
Maria Mutola (MOZ) - 800m
Irina Privalova (RUS) - 400m Hurdles
Gabriela Szabo (ROM) - 1500m and 5000m
Naoko Takahashi (JPN) - Marathon
Derartu Tulu (ETH) - 10,000m and Cross Country