Ednalva Laureano da Silva, nicknamed as “Pretinha” wins the senior women's 8km - South American XC Champs (Ismar Ingber/CBAt) © Copyright
General News

On the road to Mombasa - South American Cross Country Champs

Competing under very hot conditions at the CEFAN “Centro de Treinamento da Marinha” in Rio de Janeiro on Sunday 25 February, the Brazilian Confederation hosted the 2007 edition of the South American Cross Country Championships.

This was the 22nd time that the XC championships have taken place, and it’s most likely that this edition will be remembered for its heat, which at some points reached the temperature of 38º Celsius, and was never below 33ºC.

Naranjo and “Pretinha” win senior races

Colombian Jorge de Jesús Naranjo won the men’s race contested at the distance of 12Km in 38:45, beating local Claudir Rodrigues and Ecuadorian Bayron Piedra by 9 and 14 seconds respectively.

This was the second victory of Naranjo at the event, who had previously won in Montevideo ’05. Also it marked the fourth triumph for Colombia over the past 5 editions of the championships at the long course.

The 28-year-old Naranjo has pbs of 13:54.95 (’04) at 5000m and 29:12.13 (’02) at 10000m. He, alongside the Brazilian team which won the team competition, qualified for the IAAF World Cross Country Championships that will take place in Mombasa, Kenya, on 24 March. All individual and team champions also obtained the right to participate at the World Championships

The main event for women, at the distance of 8Km, was taken by the Brazilian Ednalva Laureano da Silva, nicknamed as “Pretinha”, in 29:30 in a tight finish over the 2006 champion, Peruvian Inés Melchor (29:34). Another Brazilian, Maria Zeferina Baldaia (29:37) finished third. Brazil also won the team event.

Laureno da Silva has track credentials of 16:03.40 at 5000m (’06) and 33:06.67 at 10000m (’02).

Orta and Huillca, junior champions

At the junior events, Venezuelan Luis Orta took the 8Km boys’ race in 26:40 over Colombians Jefferson and Javier Peña, while at the Girls’ 6Km race, promising Peruvian Rocío Huillca from Arequipa (PB of 9:39.42 at 3000m) ended victorious in 23:51, with a 5 and 7 seconds margin respectively over compatriot Karina Villasana and Uruguayan Claudia Ramírez. Peru also won the team competition at this category.

Aravena and Nina-Huamán claim youth victories

Another promising youngster, Chilean Víctor Aravena finished in first place at the 4km race for the Under-18 age group. Aravena recorded a 12:43 time to win with certain comfort over Brazilian Ederson Vilela Pereira (11 seconds margin). The 17 year-old Aravena brings a 3000m pb of 8:34.8.

In the girl’s Youth race at 3Km, Peru recorded a cleen sweep with Yoni Nina-Huamán (from Cusco) in first place with 11:11, and Danitza Crisóstomo (11:13) and Soledad Torre (11:15), both from Huancayo, in second and third places.

Eduardo Biscayart for the IAAF



1. William Naranjo (COL) 38:45
2. Claudir Rodrigues (BRA) 38:54
3. Bayron Piedra (ECU) 38:59
Teams: 1º BRA, 2º ECU, 3º ARG

8Km Junior
1. Luis Orta (VEN) 26:40
2. Jefferson Peña (COL) 26:43
3. Javier Andrés Peña (COL) 26:52
Teams: 1º COL, 2º VEN, 3º BRA

4Km Youth (U18)
1º Victor Aravena (CHI) 12:43
2º Ederson Vilela Pereira (BRA) 12:54
3º Valdison das Neves Silva (BRA) 12:56
Teams: 1º BRA; 2º CHI


1º Ednalva Laureano da Silva (BRA) 29:30
2º Inés Melchor (PER) 29:34
3º Maria Zeferina Baldaia (BRA) 29:37
Teams: 1º BRA; 2º ARG; 3º VEN

6Km Junior
1. Rocio Huilca (PER) 23:51
2. Karina Villasana (PER) 23:56
3. Claudia Ramírez (URU) 23:58
Teams: 1º PER, 2º BRA

3Km Youth (U18)
1º Yoni Nina-Huamán (PER) 11:11
2º Danitza Crisóstomo (PER) 11:13
3º Soledad Torre (PER) 11:15
Teams: 1º PER; 2º BRA