Nina Kennedy at the 2013 Australian Junior Championships (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News Donetsk, Ukraine

Australia one of the first to arrive in Donetsk – IAAF World Youth Championships

Australia’s team of 20 athletes will be one of the first overseas squads to arrive in Ukraine ahead of next week’s IAAF World Youth Championships as they are scheduled to touch down in the host city of Donetsk on Wednesday (3).

The Championships will be held in the RSK Olimpiysky stadium between 10-14 July.

“Congratulations to all the athletes selected for the IAAF World Youth Championships in Donetsk,” said Athletics Australia President Rob Fildes.

“It’s a breeding ground for future Australian champions, the green and gold have a great history of success at the event, with some fantastic athletes such as Jana Pittman, Sally Pearson, Dani Samuels and Chris Noffke all taking glory on the international stage for the first time here.

“In 2011, Australia again performed well, with Jake Stein, Liz Parnov, Sarah Carli and Monique Cilione combining to deliver four medals to the Australian tally. Thirteen athletes, or almost 50% of the team, achieved a top-eight performance and Australia placed 11th overall with 51 points."

Boasting 14 girls and six boys, the 2013 Australian team includes 13 national under 18 champions, an astounding 17 representatives from the Australian Youth Olympic Festival and 14 talented graduates of the Athletics Australia Under 17 Development Squad.

Athletics Australia for the IAAF

Team (State, Coach)

400m: Molly Blakey
800m: Georgia Wassall
2000m Steeplechase: Amy McCormick
Long Jump: Audrey Kyriacou
High Jump: Hannah Joye, Eleanor Patterson
Pole Vault: Nina Kennedy, Emma Phillippe
Shot Put: Yasenaca Denicaucau, Paletina Lemi
Discus Throw: Yasenaca Denicaucau
Hammer Throw: Alexandra Hulley
Javelin: Mackenzie Little
Heptathlon: Alysha Burnett, Aliyah Johnson

400m: Samuel Baird
Long Jump: Henry Smith
Pole Vault: Henri Brown
Discus Throw: Mathew Denny
Hammer Throw: Mathew Denny, Costa Kousparis
10,000m Walk: Nathan Brill