BAAA President Mike Sands addresses the BAAA gathering at the Evangelistic Temple on 6 May (Deborah Burrows) © Copyright
Iaaf News Nassau, Bahamas

BAAA celebrates 60th Anniversary

On Sunday, 27 May at the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium a number of Founders of the Bahamas Association of Athletic Associations, formerly Bahamas Amateur Athletic Association (BAAA), were celebrated for their contribution to the sport which is now by far the top international sport in The Bahamas.

The event was held under the theme: Sixty years of Athletic and Academic Achievements.

On 6 May, the Bahamas federation began celebrations of their sixtieth anniversary when they worshipped at the Evangelistic Temple. Sir Orville Turnquest, the only remaining founder attended and spoke at the service.

The association was founded on 6 May 1952 in the offices of Alfred Francis (AF) Adderley, who was the founding president. Other founding members were C.V. Bethel, Gerald Cash, Edwin Davies, Reginald Farrington, Randol Fawkes, Joseph Garfunkle, Kendal Isaacs, Edward Mitchell, Fred Moultrie, Cyril Richardson, Reginald John Robertson, and Orville Turnquest.

Orville Turnquest, now Sir Orville, served as Governor General of The Bahamas. Gerald Cash, who was knighted by the Queen, also served as Governor General of the Bahamas. Randol Fawkes served in Parliament as a member of the Labour Party and was instrumental in the Progressive Liberal Party winning the 1967 General Election which led to Majority Rule. He was also knighted by the Queen.

Mr. Adderley died on the plane on the way back from the Coronation of Queen Elizabeth in 1953. Cyril Richardson took over and in 1954 was the Chef-De- Mission for our first track and field team to the British Empire and Commonwealth Games in Vancouver, Canada, for the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne, in which Thomas Robinson participated.

On Sunday (27) Sir Orville was honoured at another function and could not attend.

Families of the following founding members attended: Trevor Davies, grandson of Edwin Davies; Peter Bethel, son of C.V. Bethel; Rosalie and David Fawkes, children of Sir Randol Fawkes; Stanley Mitchell, son of Edward Mitchell; Halston Moultrie, grandson of Fred Moultrie; and Shirley McDonald, daughter of Cyril Richardson.

They were all given a commemorative photo with all the founding members. The BAAA has had 14 presidents over its glorious sixty years of academic and athletic achievements. Those present were: Mr. Harold Munnings, Sir Arlington Butler, Winston Cooper, Dr. Bernard Nottage, Alpheus Finlayson, Desmond Bannister, Mike Sands, and Curt Hollingsworth. Absent were Paul Adderley, son of founder A.F. Adderley, Reverend Enoch Backford, and Foster Dorsett. Mr. Levi Gibson is deceased.

The presidents were presented with a scroll with a proclamation for Lifetime Membership as well as a certificate from the IAAF on the occasion of its 100th anniversary. Dr. Bernard Nottage, who is now the Minister of National Security in the new government, spoke on behalf of the presidents.

The newly appointed Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture, Dr. Daniel Johnson, also spoke to the gathering.

In attendance was Mrs. Loraine Clarke, who was born on May 6th, 1952. She was given VIP passes for her husband and herself, for all BAAA track meets. Cyril Johnson, a member of the 1954 British Empire and Commonwealth Games team, which included Irrington Isaacs and Leonard Dames, was also in attendance. Also in attendance were twins Glendale and Garland Miller who were members of the first IAAF World Junior 4x100m relay team in Athens in 1986. The team which included Michael Newbold and Mark Johnson finished sixth in 40.48sec.

Garland did a rendition of the songs "To God Be the Glory", and "How Can I say Thanks". Golden Girls Pauline Davis-Thompson and Eldece Clarke also attended. Renowned Sports journalist Fred Sturrup shared the Master of Ceremonies duties with well known Bernard Hanna. At the end of the festivities guests were able to get a tour of the new facility.

Bahamas Association of Athletic Associations