Kenya’s Isabella Ochichi running in the Carlsbad 5km (14:53). (Victah Sailer) © Copyright
General News 29 March 2004 – Carlsbad, USA

Berhanu (13:23) and Ochichi (14:53) win Carlsbad 5km road race

Carlsbad, USAThe Carlsbad 50005km road race - was won yesterday in warm, breezy conditions by Ethiopia’s Dejene Berhanu who retained his men’s title (13:23), while the women’s race winner was Kenya’s Isabella Ochichi (14:53).
Women's race - Ochichi beats Johnson

2003 Carlsbad runner-up, Isabella Ochichi, 24, surged at 1.5 miles and ran away from the field to a U.S. All-Comers record.
At the beginning a group of four including recently crowned World Cross Country long course champion, Benita Johnson of Australia, Ochichi, and Ethiopia’s World Indoor 3000m champion Meseret Defar and compatriot Sentayehu Ejigu, established themselves at the front of the race.

After the first mile (4:42) Ochichi pulled away and took the race through the second mile in 9:25, she was then some 9 seconds ahead of Johnson who was herself 30m clear of the Ethiopians. 

Ochichi eventually finished 14 seconds infront of the Australian (15:07).
“I thought it would be too hot, but during the race I felt comfortable and knew that I had to run a fantastic race against Benita to win,” said Ochichi.

Men's race - Berhanu retains title
In the men’s race, after a first mile of 4:17 and a second (uphill) mile of 4:26, last year’s winner Dejene Berhanu of Ethiopia pulled away from a pack of eight opponents, eventually winning in 13:23, with a seven seconds margin over second placed Boniface Songok of Kenya.

IAAF with assistance from Elite Racing (organisers) and Running USA wire


1) Dejene Berhanu (ETH) 13:23 
2) Boniface Songok (KEN) 13:30 
3) Raymond Yator (KEN) 13:31 
4) Boaz Cheboiywo (KEN) 13:32 
5) Barnabas Kosgei (KEN) 13:32 
6) Eliud Kirui (KEN)  13:40
7) Alejandro Suarez (MEX) 13:46 
8) Cathal Lombard (IRL) 13:49 
9) Alastair Stevenson (AUS) 14:01 
10) Adrian Blincoe (NZL) 14:11
1) Isabella Ochichi (KEN) 14:53
2) Benita Johnson (AUS) 15:07 
3) Meseret Defar (ETH) 15:23 
4) Sentayehu Ejigu (ETH) 15:25 
5) Eyerusalem Kuma (ETH)15:37 
6) Hayley McGregor (AUS) 15:38 
7) Sally Barsosio (KEN) 15:58 
8) Lucy Smith (CAN) 16:08 
9) Natalie Harvey (GBR) 16:11 
10) Sally Hauser (USA/CA)16:22 
11) Georgie Clarke (AUS) 16:34