© Copyright
General News

Bhairon Singh and Sangini Devi recapture Indira marathon crown

Indira National Open Marathon, the country’s longest running event saw its 22nd edition held on Sunday (19 Nov) in Allahabad, India. 

Bhairon Singh Lone of Madhya Pradesh and Hidangmayum Sangini Devi of Manipur took the top spots in the men's and women's races respectively.
Lone, who had five-in-a-row titles at Allahabad from 2000 to 2004 but lost it to Kennedy Chinna Ramu last year, registered his sixth win in seven years clocking 2:24:30. 
The women’s victor Devi also suffered a defeat in 2005 to Reena Das after having won three consecutive crowns from 2002 to 2004, and regained her crown, for the fourth time, in 2:56:02.
The winners got a prize purse of INR 101,000 (approx. USD 2000) while the second and third place finishers were richer by INR 50,000 and 20,000 respectively.
The marathon, organised by the Uttar Pradesh state government in ever-loving memory of the nation’s former Prime Minister Mrs. Indira Gandhi, is held annually on the same date - 19 November - her birthday, barring few exceptions.    
Ram. Murali Krishnan for the IAAF


1. Bahirov Singh Lone (Madhya Pradesh) 2:24:30; 2. Shivdan Singh (Maharashtra) 2:25:43; 3. Narendra (Mah) 2:25:54;  

1. H. Sangini Devi (Manipur) 2:56:02; 2. Indresh Dhiraj (UP) 3:02:56; 3. Leelamma Alphanso (Mah) 3:07:30;