Cleopatra Borel-Brown at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, winning an 18.29 metres effort. (Curtis Chase - Trinidad Express) © Copyright
General News Port of Spain, Trinidad

Borel-Brown takes fourth national title in Trinidad

Cleopatra BorelBrown continued her fine run of form this season with victory in the Sagicor National Open Track and Field Championship women’s shot put, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, on Sunday (24).

The 2006 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist put 18.29 metres to secure her fourth national crown and a fifth victory in seven 2007 outdoor outings. Annie Alexander finished second with a 15.17m effort, while bronze was bagged by Hilenn James (12.99m).

Borel-Brown opened the competition with a 17.23m throw, followed up at 17.74m and found her stride in the third round, heaving the shot 18.20m to preserve her perfect 18-plus 2007 outdoor record. The 27-year-old field athlete completed her day’s work with the 18.29m effort in the sixth and final round.

Alexander was on fire in the women’s discus, the 19-year-old thrower striking gold with a mighty 52.71m heave-a new championship record.

Janeil Bellille gave a classy showing, the 18-year-old winning the women’s 400m hurdles in 57.70 seconds-a new national junior record.

Emmanuel Callender dethroned 2005/2006 champion Aaron Armstrong in the men’s 200 metres final. Armstrong trailed his rival off the bend and was unable to make up the deficit on the straight, Callender winning comfortably in a personal best 20.77 seconds. Armstrong picked up silver in 20.99, while Rondell Sorillo clocked 21.20 for bronze.

Nandelle Cameron produced a new PR (personal record)-23.47 seconds-to grab gold in the women’s half-lap. Reyare Thomas (23.58) and newly-crowned 100m champion Sasha Springer (23.59) finished second and third, respectively.

Kwame Laurence (Trinidad Express) for the IAAF



200m (wind: +1.3m/s)
1 Emmanuel Callender (unattached) 20.77
2 Aaron Armstrong (Rebirth) 20.99
3 Rondell Sorillo (Petrotrin, Palo Seco) 21.20
1 Jamaal James (Quantum) 1:47.85
2 Moise Joseph (Haiti) 1:50.02
3 Gavyn Nero (Memphis) 1:50.19
1 Denzel Ramirez (Defence Force) 14:54.16
2 Richard Jones (TTRRC) 15:16.23
3 Curtis Cox (Simplex) 15:40.32
400m hurdles
1 Adrian Mann (USA) 52.24
2 Keston Toney (Zenith) 53.41
3 Ansil Nicholson (Memphis) 54.02
Triple Jump
1 Chris Hercules (Memphis) 15.90m (wind: +1.5)
2 Dellon Williams (Neon Trackers) 15.73m (wind: +2.6)
3 Ayata Joseph (Antigua) 15.70m (wind: +1.3)
Discus Throw
1 Kellon Marshall (Dovers) 46.79m
2 Quincy Wilson (H/Olympians) 41.29m
3 Wade Franklin (Zenith) 38.98m

1 Simplex 40.49
2 Memphis 41.46
3 Concorde 41.77
1 Zenith 3:12.37
2 Memphis 3:12.74
3 Neon Trackers 3:18.98


200m (wind: +0.7)
1 Nandelle Cameron (Concorde) 23.47
2 Reyare Thomas (Neon Trackers) 23.58
3 Sasha Springer (Memphis) 23.59

1 Melissa De Leon (Memphis) 2:06.67
2 Jessica James (Neon Trackers) 2:14.09
3 Afiya Walker (Burnley) 2:17.53
1 Shermin Lasaldo (Success) 11:12.37
2 Samantha Shukla (Success) 11:27.94
400m hurdles
1 Janeil Bellille (Neon Trackers) 57.70 NJR
2 Romona Modeste (Quantum) 1:01.87
3 Sparkle McKnight (Neon Trackers) 1:02.63

High Jump
1 Deandra Daniel (Dovers) 1.70m
2 Natoya Baird (Zenith) 1.65m
2 Jeanelle Ovid (Bishop Anstey) 1.65m

Triple Jump
1 Ayanna Alexander (unattached) 13.31m (wind: +4.5)
Shot Put
1 Cleopatra Borel-Brown (Eagles) 18.29m
2 Annie Alexander (Burnley) 15.17m
3 Hilenn James (GC Striders) 12.99m

Discus Throw
1 Annie Alexander (Burnley) 52.71m CR
2 Akeela Bravo (Burnley) 38.32m
3 Sparkle Taylor (Falcons) 34.07m

1 Memphis 45.13
2 Neon Trackers 46.49

1 Natoya Baird (Zenith) 4,743 points
2 Venice Frederick (Success) 4,347
3 Jackie Quamina (Neon Trackers) 3,636