Alistair Cragg running to a famous victory over Bekele in Boston (Victah Sailer) © Copyright
General News

Cragg heads Irish squad for World Cross Country

Athletics Ireland  have announced that Alistiar Cragg will lead the Irish teams for the forthcoming 33rd IAAF World Cross Country Championships, Saint-Etienne/Saint-Galmier, France, on 19-20 March.

Cragg, the fastest man in the world this year over 3000m indoors, has declared for both the long and short race events and will be joined in the long course by recently crowned national champion Gary Murray from Donegal.

The women’s team will be lead by Jolene Byrne and Maria McCambridge but will be without the services of former double World champion Sonia O'Sullivan, who is on the comeback from injury but feels she would not be in a position to do herself justice by the time of the Championships.

National Junior Champions Danny Darcy and Roseann Galligan lead their respective junior teams.

Pierce O'Callaghan for the IAAF

Men (Long race )
Gary Murray (St Malachys)
Mark Kenneally (Clonliffe Harriers)
Paul McNamara (Athenry)
Joe McAllister (St Malachys)
Vinny Mulvey (Raheny Shamrock)
Alistair Cragg (Clonliffe Harriers)

Men (Short race)
Alistair Cragg (Clonliffe Harriers)

Women (Short race)
Jolene Byrne (Donore Harriers)
Maria McCambridge (DSD)
Fionnuala Britton (Sli Chulainn)
Pauline Curley (Tullamore Harriers)
Mary Margaret Meade (North Belfast Harriers)(subject to fitness) Niamh O'Sullivan (Riocht)

Junior Men
Danny Darcy (SLOT)
Paul Pollock (Abbey)

Junior Women
Roseanne Galligan (Newbridge)
Linda Byrne (DSD)

Patsy McGonagle (Finn Valley)Team Manager Jim Davis (Liffey Valley) Team Coach Teresa McDaid (Letterkenny) Team Coach Angela O'Sullivan physio