Luiz Alberto de Araújo on the way to a Brazilian record in the Decathlon (Wagner Carmo/CBAt) © Copyright
General News

De Araújo tallies 8267pt national record at Brazilian championships

Luiz Alberto de Araújo produced the most impressive performance of the "31° Troféu Brasil/Caixa de Atletismo" (the Brazilian National Championships) by setting a new national record in the Decathlon with 8276 points. De Araújo ecplised the 25-year-old record of 8266 set by Pedro Ferreira da Silva (Walnut 23 April 1987). The "Troféu" was held at the track of the "Estádio Ícaro de Castro Melo" in São Paulo, from 27 June to 1 July.

De Araújo, born on 27 June 1987, some two months after da Silva’s record was set, in Artur Nogueira, Campinas, São Paulo, had a solid first day, collecting 4267 points (a personal best) by putting together a series of solid performances and only one personal best (equaled at HJ with 1.98m). Two more personal bests came on the second day (4.90m at PV and 4:27.75 at 1500m). Those improvements sealed the record and also de Araújo’s ticket for London.

"This is a great moment for me," said de Araújo. "London’s standard was my goal. At some point it seamed possible, but I avoided talking about it after the first day because a Decathlon is a two-day event and anything can go wrong."

"I still cannot believe it. Now we have to design the plan for the weeks leading into the Olympic Games,", added de Araújo, who had a previous PB of 8115. His experience (at major events) includes a sixth place at the 2006 World Junior Championships and a 16th at the 2011 World Championships. Besides London, de Araújo’s next challenge will be the 8291 points South American record set by Argentina’s Tito Steiner in 1983.

De Barros seals 200m ticket to London

The "Troféu" was also the decisive event to determine the Brazilian Olympic team. One of the events with more than three athletes qualified was the men’s 200m. Bruno de Barros, sixth at the 2011 IAAF World Championships, won the final in 20.37, a season’s best. Twenty-year-old Aldemir da Silva, the newest Brazilian revelation at the distance was second with a personal best of 20.38, while veteran Sandro Viana was third with 20.56. "My goal is to repeat the place in final I obtained in Daegu," said the 25-year-old de Barros who has a personal best of 20.16.

Another athlete who added his name to the Olympic team was Race Walking specialist Caio Bonfim, who won the 20km event held in the streets of Barueri, in West São Paulo. Bonfim’s time was 1:21:36.

"The qualifying mark came at the last possible meet. I’m very excited. This will be a great experience for me. Will help me to have a better performance in Rio 2016," the 21 year-old from Brasília said.

Discus Thrower Ronald Julião, already qualified for London, was victorious in his event with a meet record of 63.13m.

Cruz Nonata da Silva also set two meet records at 5000 and 10,000m, but couldn’t reach the Olympic standard. Yet, she received the recognition of achieving the best female performance of the "Troféu" (the male award went to de Araújo) with her 15:36.57 clocking at 5000m.

The team competition was taken by Club BM&F Bovespa with 691 points. Esporte Clube Pinheiros was second with 323.5 and Orcampi Unimed was third with 162 points.

Eduardo Biscayart for the IAAF

2012 Troféu Brasil/Caixa de Atletismo
São Paulo, 27 June-1 July (Race Walking held in Barueri)

List of Champions -
100m (0.3) (28): José Carlos Moreira 10.34
200m (0.8) (1): Bruno de Barros 20.37
400m (29): Hederson Estefani 45.25
800m (1): Kléberson Davide 1:46.03
1500m (28): Fabiano Peçanha 3:46.31
5000m (1): Rafael Novais 14:01.04
10000m (27): Damião de Souza 28:51.31
3000m St (29): Gládson Barbosa 8:48.76
110m hurdles (0.4) (1): Matheus Inocêncio 13.74
400m hurdles (1): Mahau Suguimati 49.24
High Jump (30): Talles Silva 2.20
Pole Vault (29): Fábio da Silva 5.40
Long Jump (28): Mauro Vinícius da Silva 7.97/-1.1
Triple Jump (1): Jadel Gregório 16.99/1.5
Shot Put (29): Darlan Romani 19.42 NR
Discus Throw (30): Ronald Julião 63.13
Hammer Throw (28): Wágner Domingos 69.44
Javelin Throw (1): João Carlos Martins 72.34
Decathlon (29, 30): Luiz Alberto de Araújo 8276 NR (10.80/0.0 7.39/-0.2 14.93 1.98 48.54 (4267) 14.12/0.4 46.15 4.90 52.11 4:27.75)
4x100m (29): BM&F Bovespa (B. de Morães, E. de Jesus, N. André, A. Feitosa) 39.43
4x400m (1): EC Pinheiros (J. Neto, K. Davide, S. Viana, Â. dos Santos) 3:06.09
20km Walk (29): Caio Bonfim 1:21:36.

100m (0.3) (28): Rosângela Santos 11.28
200m (0.0) (1): Rosângela Santos 22.90
400m (29): Geisa Coutinho 51.46
800m (29): Juliana Azevedo dos Santos 2:05.20
1500m (1): Juliana Azevedo dos Santos 4:20.84
5000m (29): Cruz da Silva 15:36.57*
10,000m (27): Cruz da Silva 32:15.72*
3000m St (30): Tatiane da Silva 10:25.04
100m hurdles (0.1) (29): Maíla Machado 13.31
400m hurdles (1): Jaílma de Lima 56.16
High Jump (29): Valdileia Martins 1.84
Pole Vault (1): Karla da Silva 4.30
Long Jump (1): Eliane Martins 6.45/0.8
Triple Jump (28): Keila Costa 14.18/-0.3
Shot Put (1): Geisa Arcanjo 18.08
Discus Throw (29): Andressa de Morais 58.80
Hammer Throw (28): Josiane Soares 59.25
Javelin Throw (30): Jucilene de Lima 57.85
Heptathlon (28, 29): Lucimara da Silva 6026 (13.28/0.1 1.82 12.74 24.64/0.7 (3716) 6.07/-1.3 38.71 2:22.02)
4x100m (29): BM&F Bovespa (R. Coelho Neto, L. de Moura, T. Presti, T. da Silva) 44.65
4x400m (1): BM&F Bovespa (E, Paixão, J. de Lima, L, Fernandes, J. Sousa) 3:36.08
20km Walk (29): Érica de Sena 1:42:05 (Paola Pérez ECU 1:37:42).

*Championship record

Click here for FULL results