Samsung Diamond League logo ( © Copyright
General News Monaco

Event Disciplines per each Meeting – Samsung Diamond League 2012

The Samsung Diamond League is delighted to announce the distribution of event disciplines for the 2012 season.

Commencing on 11 May 2012 in Doha (QAT), the third season of the Samsung Diamond League is composed of 14 of the best invitational track and field meetings in the world. The meetings are spread across Asia, Europe, the Middle East and the USA, and compose the top tier of the IAAF’s global one-day meeting competition structure.

This series of 14 meetings, which began in 2010, showcases 32 event disciplines which are carefully distributed amongst the meetings.

In each of the 32 event disciplines there is a “Diamond Race” with points available throughout the 14 meeting season. Winners of each Diamond Race receive a 40,000 USD cash prize and a spectacular Diamond Trophy but more importantly, they will have shown season long consistency to earn the unchallenged honour of being the World Number 1.

Each of the 32 event disciplines is staged seven times with the top three Athletes being awarded - 4, 2 and 1 - points at each meeting, with the exception of the Finals in Zurich (SUI) on 30 August 2012 and Brussels (BEL) on 7 September 2012, where the points are doubled.

Go to 'Related Documents' – underneath the logo to the right of this text – to download the 2012 Distribution of Event Disciplines in pdf

Get set for the Samsung Diamond League 2012!

Samsung Diamond League

2012 Calendar

Doha, QAT - 11 May

Shanghai, CHN - 19 May

Rome, ITA - 31 May

Eugene, USA - 2 June

Oslo, NOR - 7 June

New York, USA - 9 June

Paris, FRA - 6 July

London, GBR - 13 / 14 July

Monaco, MON - 20 July

Stockholm, SWE - 17 August

Lausanne, SUI - 23 August

Birmingham, GBR - 26 August

Zurich, SUI - 30 August

Brussels, BEL - 7 September