History in the making, Allyson Felix crosses the line to become the World Champion over 200m for the third time (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Five new athlete Ambassadors announced – IAAF Diamond League

READ ON for English and French language versions of this press release

- La traduction française suit le texte anglais 

Monte-Carlo - There is exactly one month to go to the start of the inaugural season of the 14 meeting IAAF Diamond League which commences in Doha on Friday 14 May.

To mark this occasion, we are proud to announce FIVE new IAAF Diamond League Ambassadors which brings the total of track and field stars who now hold this distinguished title to 14.

14 Diamond League meetings represented by 14 Ambassadors; headline grabbing athletes who are evenly spread in terms of their gender and event discipline: 7 men, 7 women; 7 competing in track events and 7 participating in field events.

The new names are (in alphabetical order):

Allyson Felix (USA) – reigning three-time women’s World 200m champion.
Shelly-Ann Fraser (JAM) – reigning women’s World and Olympic 100m champion.
Tero Pitkämäki (FIN) – 2007 men’s World Javelin Throw champion.
Barbora Spotáková (CZE) – reigining women’s Olympic Javelin Throw champion and World record holder; 2007 World champion.
Valerie Vili (NZL) – reigining women’s Olympic and two-time World Shot Put champion.

The original nine IAAF Diamond League Ambassadors announced last November are: 2009 World Athletes of the Year, Usain Bolt (JAM) and Sanya Richards-Ross (USA), and (in alphabetical order) Kenenisa Bekele (ETH), Tyson Gay (USA), Steven Hooker (AUS), Yelena Isinbayeva* (RUS), Asafa Powell (JAM), Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR) and Blanka Vlasic (CRO).

All 14 Ambassadors are promoting the IAAF Diamond League, a series which marks a new beginning for the sport’s top one-day circuit, enhancing the worldwide appeal of athletics, by going outside Europe for the first time, with competitions in Asia, Europe, the Middle East and the USA.

Click here to read more about the 14 IAAF Diamond League Ambassadors

2010 IAAF Diamond League Calendar

Doha (QAT) – Fri 14 May
Shanghai (CHN) – Sun 23 May
Oslo (NOR) – Fri 4 June
Rome (ITA) – Thu 10 June
New York (USA) – Sat 12 June
Eugene (USA) – Sat 3 July
Lausanne (SUI) – Thu 8 July
Gateshead (GBR) – Sat 10 July
Paris (FRA) – Fri 16 July
Monaco (MON) – Thu 22 July
Stockholm (SWE) – Fri 6 Aug
London (GBR) – Fri 13 and Sat 14 Aug
Zürich (SUI) – Thu 19 Aug
Brussels (BEL) – Fri 27 Aug

IAAF Diamond League

*Yelena Isinbayeva announced on 10 April she is taking an indefinite break from competition.

Click here to access the central IAAF Diamond League website

Click here to read all IAAF Diamond League news

Cinq nouveaux athlètes Ambassadeurs sont annoncés - Diamond League de l'IAAF

Monte-Carlo – Il reste exactement un mois avant la première des quatorze compétitions de la saison inaugurale de la Diamond League de l'IAAF qui se déroule à Doha le vendredi 14 mai.

Dans la perspective de ce grand rendez-vous, nous sommes fiers d'annoncer la nomination de CINQ nouveaux Ambassadeurs de la Diamond League de l'IAAF. Avec ces cinq nouveaux Ambassadeurs, il existe désormais quatorze athlètes de l'élite auréolés de ce titre distingué.

14 compétitions de la Diamond League représentées par 14 Ambassadeurs; des athlètes de tout premier plan répartis de manière équitable en termes de parité hommes/femmes et de disciplines: sept hommes, sept femmes; sept athlètes sur piste et sept spécialistes des concours.

Voici la liste des nouveaux Ambassadeurs (par ordre alphabétique):

Allyson Felix (USA) – triple championne du monde et championne en titre du 200m.
Shelly-Ann Fraser (JAM) – championne olympique et du monde en titre du 100m.
Tero Pitkämäki (FIN) – champion du monde du javelot 2007.
Barbora Spotáková (CZE) – championne olympique en titre et détentrice  du record du monde du javelot; championne du monde 2007.
Valerie Vili (NZL) – championne olympique en titre et double championne du monde du lancer de poids.

Les neuf premiers Ambassadeurs de la Diamond League de l'IAAF, annoncés en novembre dernier, sont: les Athlètes mondiaux de l'année 2009, Usain Bolt (JAM) et Sanya Richards-Ross (USA), ainsi que (par ordre alphabétique) Kenenisa Bekele (ETH), Tyson Gay (USA), Steven Hooker (AUS), Yelena Isinbayeva* (RUS), Asafa Powell (JAM), Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR) et Blanka Vlasic (CRO).

Chacun des quatorze Ambassadeurs assure la promotion de la Série de compétitions de la Diamond League de l'IAAF; cette série marque une ère nouvelle pour le circuit des compétitions d'une journée pour l'élite de l'athlétisme, renforçant l'attrait de l'athlétisme en sortant du continent européen pour la première fois, avec l'organisation de compétitions en Asie, en Europe, au Moyen-Orient, et aux États-Unis.