Hrysopiyi Devetzi of Greece celebrates jumping 15.32 in the Triple Jump qualifications (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Greek team for Helsinki

The Greek Federation has announced the names of seven men and eighteen women to represent Greece at the 10th IAAF World Championships in Athletics, Helsinki, Finland (6-14 August).

Although some of the country’s biggest names are not included in the list, a quartet of medallists from the Olympics or past World Championships, as well as some younger athletes have the ambition to win medals or at least to get a significant position in the finals.

Significant athletes included -

The Olympic 20km Race Walk champion Athanasia Tsoumeleka, returns from a period of injury. The Athens’ silver medallist Chrysopigi Devetzi, will be again an prominent participant in the women’s Triple Jump. Reigning World Javelin Throw champion Mirela Manjani also has injury problems but will compete. Paris’ bronze medallist, Periklis Iakovakis, has run the 400m Hurdles in 48.24 this year, approaching his personal best.

Significant missing athletes -

Women’s Olympic 400m Hurdles champion Fani Halkia, the Discus Throw silver medallist Anastasia Kelesidou and the European Champion Ekaterini Voggoli, have not competed this year. Also Georgia Kokloni and Styliani Pilatou, both silver medallists in the European Indoor Championships, didn’t make the qualification standards.  Long jumper Luis Tsatoumas does not go to the Finnish Capital because of an injury.

Michalis Nikitaridis for the IAAF

The Greek team

Panayotis Sarris (200m, SB 20.69)
Alexandros Theofanov (110m hurdles, SB 13.62)
Periklis Iakovakis (400m hurdles, SB 48.24)
Konstantinos Filippidis (pole vault, SB 5.72m)
Hristos Meletoglou (triple jump, SB 16.74m
Konstantinos Zalagitis (triple jump, SB 17.29m)
Alexandros Papadimitriou (hammer throw, SB 78.28)

Maria Karastamati (100m, SB 11.03)
Dimitra Dova (400m, SB 51.89)
Maria Papadopoulou (800m, SB 1.59.79)
Konstantina Efentaki (1500m, SB 4.09.56)
Maria Protopapa (5000m, SB 15.08.03)
Flora Redoumi (100mh, SB 13.03)
Hristina Hatzi – Neag (400mh, SB 56.45)
Afroditi Skafida (pole vault, SB 4.48m)
Ioanna Kafetzi (long jump, SB 6.62m)
Chrysopigi Devetzi (triple jump, SB 14.62m)
Athanasia Perra (triple jump, SB 14.12m)
Styliani Papadopoulou (hammer throw, SB 68.54m)
Mirela Manjani (Javelin Throw, SB 59.92m)
Aggeliki Tsiolakoudi (Javelin Throw, SB 62.72m)
Savva Lika (Javelin Throw, SB 57.88m)
Athanasia Tsoumeleka (20000m walk, SB 1.35.11)
Athina Papagianni (20000m walk, SB 1.36.44)