Edith Masai, the only individual gold medallist for Kenya in Brussels (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News 13 February 2005 – Edith Masai, the three

Injured Masai included in provisional Kenyan World Cross Country squad

Edith Masai, the threetime World Cross Country champion at the women’s short race was included in Kenya’s provisional World Cross Country Championships team despite not participating in yesterday’s the Nairobi's IAAF Permit meeting, which also acted as the World Cross Country Trials.

Masai twisted her right ankle during training on Friday and was given up to 26 February to prove her fitness or be left out all together from the team for France next month. That deadline means she must prove her fitness be at the Eastern African Cross Country Championships in Nairobi on that day.

Also named in the provisional team despite not performing impressively was Johnson Muiruri, who was among the Athletics Kenyan Cross Country series Jackpot candidates before yesterday but was way outside the top 10 during the trials.

The team moves to residential camping in Embu on the foot Mount Kenya from Monday.

Omulo Okoth (The Standard) for IAAF

Kenyan Team:


Short race - Isaac Songok, Sammy Kipketer, Brimin Kipruto, Abraham Chebii, Henry Biwott, Shadrack Koskei, Boniface Songok, Joseph Koskei, John Kibowen, Eliud Kirui.

Long race - Eliud Kipchoge, Moses Mosop, John C. Korir, Charles Kamathi, Abraham Cherono, David Chepterit, Wilberforce Talel, Linus Chumba, William Chebon, Johnson Muiruri.

Junior - Augustine Choge, Bernard Koskei, Hosea Macharnyang, Ndiwa Mangata, Moses Masai, Bernard Kiprop, Edwin Soi, Elijah Chelimo, Ernest Kemeli.


Short race - Prisca Jepleting, Viola Kibiwott, Beatrice Chepchumba, Beatrice Chepngeno, Chebet Lagat, Lucy Kabuu, Beatrice Rutto, Nancy Wambui, Edith Masai.

Long race - Rose Chepyego Chepchumba, Catherine Kirui, Susan Chepkemei, Irene Kwambai, Irene Lemika, Alice Timbilil, Isabella Ochichi, Eunice Jepkorir, Anna Wambui.

Junior - Veronica Nyarwai, Phylis Jebii Yator, Pauline Chemununa Korkwang, Gladys Chemngeno, Alphine Tulianuk, Mercy Njoroge, Margaret Muriuki

Peter Angwenyi (team manager), David Miano (Assistant TM), Julius Kirwa, David Leting, John Muthiga (coaches), Tecla Chemabwai Sang (cheparone), John Makware (physio), Eva Kimachach (assistant Physio), Captain (Dr) Gundo (team doctor).