© Copyright
General News

Irish 50km Race Walk record in Dudince

Ireland´s Colin Griffin today won his first ever 50km Race Walk in the Slovakian Spa City of Dudince, Slovakia, at EAA Permit Walking Meeting, the “26th Dudinska patdesiatka“.

His final time was 3:51:32, a new Irish record, bettering that of Jamie Costin who walked 3:53:58 in 2003. Costin witnessed the feat, and finished 4th in the 20km later in the day

"I m very happy it went so well. My main aim was to achieve a time under four hours, so I’m surprised with the final result. I knew I had a good shape, but in such a weather you never know,“ said Griffin.

Second placed Milos Batovsky from Slovakia took the national title missing his best with 3:54:10 only by 4 seconds. Third was Donatas Skarnulis from Lithuania also finished under 4 hours with new best of 3:54:23.

The Hungarian champion was Zoltan Czukor, 6th, and the Czech champion was Milos Holusa as 10th.

In total 45 walkers from 15 countries went for the race in tough cold and windy conditions with occasional rain.

Slovakian record holder Zuzana Malikova won the women 20km clearly with 1:32:19 and got her 4th national title. She missed her NR from Gothenburg 2006 only by 5 seconds. 

“I had a small hamstring problem during the week so I was even considering not to race, but I was finally able to participate. Pity with the weather, otherwise I would be able to come closer to 1:30,“ said Malikova.

Rafal Augustyn of Poland won the men’s 20km race with a time of 1:23:07.

Alfons Juck for the IAAF

Top results

Men 50 km: 1. Colin Griffin,IRL 3:51:32 NR, 2. Milos Batovsky,SVK (NC) 3:54:10, 3. Donatas Skarnulis,LTU 3:54:23 PB, 4. Chris Erickson,AUS 4:04:10, 5. Dusan Majdan,SVK 4:07:43, 6. Zoltan Czukor,HUN (NC) 4:09:31,…10. Milos Holusa,CZE (NC) 4:15:40

Men 20 km: 1. Rafal Augustyn,POL 1:23:07, 2. Maik Berger,GER 1:24:01, 3. Predrag Filipovic,SER 1:24:18, 4. Jamie Costin,IRL 1:24:53, 5. Carsten Schmidt, GER 1:25:09, 6. Tadas Suskevicius,LTU 1:25:26, 7. Peter Korcok,SVK 1:25:46, 8. Hannes Tonat,GER 1:26:02

Women 20 km: 1. Zuzana Malikova,SVK 1:32:19, 2. Katarzyna Kwoka,POL 1:35:49, 3. Agnieszka Dygacz,POL 1:36:54, 4. Paulina Buziak,POL 1:37:17, 5. Lucie Pelantova,CZE 1:38:06, 6. Zuzana Schindlerova,CZE 1:39:06

Junior-men 10 km: 1. Tavtyvdas Zekas,LTU 44:42, 2. Pawel Krawczyk,POL 44:53, 3. Balazs Darabos,HUN 45:58

Junior-women 10 km: 1. Federico Ferraro, ITA 50:20, 2. Anita Meszaros,HUN 50:55, 3. Barbora Strnadova,SVK 51:24