Amora medallists, from left - Mosop (2nd), Kipkoech (1st) and Chermweno (3rd) (Paulo Costa) © Copyright
General News Amora, Portugal

Kenyans dominate Cross Country in Amora

Kenya once again confirmed its premier position on the international Cross Country circuit. This morning, Kenyan runners swept the podium at the Corta Mato Cidade de Amora (EAA Permit) in a straightforward men's race.

The first three athletes in the men’s 10km race led as a group from gun to tape, with Philip Kipkoech finishing first (28:59), ahead of Moses Mosop (28:59) and David Chermweno (29:36).

“Right at the very beginning of the race I knew that I was able to finish first. I run to be at the top of the cross country circuit, and I intend to be in a very good shape for the World Champs, next year,” said the winner Kipkoech.

In the countdown to next month's European Cross Country Championships (8 December) in Croatia, Portugal’s Manuel Silva completed the race in fourth position in 29:41. Though this was only the first top Portuguese cross country meeting of the season, the national coach Bernardo Manuel was particularly using this event to help select the Portuguese team for the continental championships.

In the women’s race, Ana Dias from 'Sporting Clube de Portugal' was queen of the field. In a similar fashion to Kipkoech men's victory, Dias led the women's race from the beginning and eventually finished the 5 km course in 15:56. However, this wasn’t an easy race as she was shadowed throughout by two other Portugese runners – Fernanda Miranda and Jessica Augusto, representing 'Sporting Clube de Braga'. In the end it came down to the final sprint with Dias holding sway over Miranda (15:57) but there was only a second in it at the finish. Augusto finished third in 16:05.

“This was my first event this season since my preparation started late. It’s good to begin with a victory and I want to improve my performance even more for the upcoming European Championships in Croatia, which is my main goal till the end of the year”, said Dias.  

Paulo Costa for the IAAF


Men’s Race (10 KM):
1 Philip Kipkoech KEN 28:59
2 Moses Mosop KEN 28:59
3 David Chermweno KEN 29:36
4 Manuel Silva POR 29:41
5 Rui Pedro Silva POR 30:15
6 Luis Feiteira POR 30:16
7 Pedro Sampaio POR 30:22
8 Mário Teixeira POR 30:35
9 Riad Mohamed POR 30:39
10 Rui Borges POR 30:44

Women’s Race (5 KM):
1 Ana Dias POR 15:56
2 Fernanda Miranda POR 15:57
3 Jessica Augusto POR 16:05
4 Beatriz Cunha POR 16:27
5 Fátima Cabral POR 16:31
6 Marisa Barros POR 16:35
7 Claudia Pereira POR 16:52
8 Rita Simões POR 16:55
9 Vanda Ribeiro POR 17:01
10 Leonor Carneiro POR 17:08