Kiplimo Kimutai en route to his course record at the Hawassa Half Marathon (Jiro Mochizuki) © Copyright
General News Hawassa, Ethiopia

Kimutai breaks course record in Hawassa Half Marathon

Kiplimo Kimutai of Kenya set a 1:03:10 course reared at the Every One Half Marathon in Hawassa, Ethiopia on Sunday (1).

Kimutai's run knocked 44 seconds from the previous course mark of 1:03:15 set by compatriot Wilson Chebet last year. The women’s race came down to a sprint finish and was won by Sisay Measo. Last year’s women’s winner finished 4th.

The races took place at an altitude of 1700m with temperatures rising to above 30c towards the end of the morning.

Haile Gebrselassie was present at the event, spoke at the pre-race media events, started the races and presented prizes to the winners. He was accompanied by Gebre Gebremariam, the reigning New York Marathon champion, Shiferaw Shigute, the President of the Southern Region, and the Hawassa City Mayor.

The EVERY ONE campaign aims to achieve reductions in newborn, child and maternal mortality in Ethiopia. This year’s race also marked the 50th anniversary of USAID’s work in Ethiopia. USAID is the prime development arm of the US government providing substantial support to the Ethiopian government and many non-government organisations to promote Ethiopia’s development.

More than 3000 participants took part in the event comprising three 21.1Km races (men’s elite, women’s elite, non-elite), a 7Km mass run and a 2Km children’s run. Of these more than 200 participants came from Addis Ababa or abroad ensuring that Gebrselassie’s new 112-room hotel was full to bursting throughout race weekend.

In the non-elite 21km race Andy Douglas of Inverclyde (1:18:23) and Fiona Powell of Brighton & Hove (1:31:52) won the men’s and women’s races respectively.

Organisers for the IAAF

Leading Results (all athletes ETH unless otherwise indicated):
 1. Kiplimo Kimutai (Kenya)  1:03:10
 2. Gishu Dida     1:03:54
 3. Seboka Dibaba    1:04:07
 4. Tamirat Girma    1:04:10
 5. Feyisa Girma    1:04:13
 6. Abiot Guta     1:04:20
 7. Belachew Alemayehu   1:04:29
 8. Damte Kashu    1:04:36
 9. Feyisa Bekele    1:04:49
10.  Abebe Siheen    1:04:58

1. Sisay Measo    1:16:41
2. Dinkinesh Mekonnen   1:16:42
3. Ihitu Bizuayehu   1:16:53
4. Seada Kedir     1:16:54
5. Alemtsehay Mesfin   1:17:14