Third consecutive national XC title for Moses Kipsiro at the 2010 Ugandan championships (Daniel Senfuma) © Copyright
General News Amuria, Uganda

Kipsiro makes it three in a row at Ugandan XC championships

Reigning World cross country championship silver medallist Moses Kipsiro made it three in a row when he headlined the Ugandan National Cross Country Championships on Saturday (6) in Amuria district.

Kipsiro, returning from a minor calf injury, had to tussle with teammate Boniface Kiprop in the opening laps of the circuit before the latter dropped leaving Kipsiro to win the day’s main race. Kipsiro also won the 2008 and 2009 editions of the championship.

Earlier, World mountain running champion Geoffery Kusuro and Moses Aliwa together with the pair of James Kibet and Stephen Kiprotich had provided the fast pace before Kipsiro emerged in the last kilometre to cross the finish line in 32:42 beating the hard chasing Kusuro who crossed with 32:53 while Kibet claimed the bronze medal in 33:27.

"It was a dry course with a lot of competition provided by my challengers,” Kipsiro said. “When Kiprop pulled out, I knew my final kick will kill off my challengers.”

Kipsiro is targeting to compete at the World’s Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico, later this month before returning to camp to prepare for the World Cross Country Championships.

Kiprop’s failure to finish might yet cost him a place on the Ugandan team that will be selected based on the performances in Amuria.

World junior cross bronze medallist Moses Kibet proved his worth when he claimed the juniors gold with 21:40. Surprise entrant Soyekwo Kibet finished second with 21:47 after losing out in a sprint finish to his teammate. “I worked hard for this medal and I hope to finish in a better position at the world cross country,” Kibet said.

Women - Nyakisi defends title

While Kipsiro was gunning for his third title, Adero Nyakisi easily made it two after beating off her challengers in the women’s 8km race.

The Prisons' officer seemed unbothered throughout as she exchanged the lead with her teammate Janet Achola before she broke away in the final lap to win in 25:45 while Achola crossed in second place with 26:26.

Former champion Catherine Webombesa finished in fourth with 26:59 while the bronze medal went to Emily Kibet who crossed with 26:47.

“My long stay in the altitude hills of Iten, Kenya, are paying off, today’s win is as a result of hard work,” said Nyakisi.

Annet Negesa won the junior`s crown with 18:39 while Rebecca Cheptegei and Voila Chemos finished in second and third positions with 18:57 and 19:13 respectively.

Daniel Senfuma and Namayo Mawerere for the IAAF

Leading results -

Senior MEN (12 km) -
 1. Moses Kipsiro (Standard)    32:42
 2. Geoffrey Kusuro (Arua)      32:53
 3. James Kibet (Standard)      33:20
 4. Stephen Kiprotich (Prisons) 33:27
 5. Moses Aliwa (Arua)          33:49
 6. Dickson Hurua (Lugazi)      33:53

Junior MEN (8 km) -
 1. Moses Kibet (Standard)       21:40
 2. Soyekwa Kibet (Standard)     21:47
 3. Timothy Toroitich (Standard) 21:57
 4. Jacob Araptani (Kibuuka)     21:58
 5. Moses Kirong (Lugazi)        22:00
 6. Emma Fefia (Standard)        22:15

Senior WOMEN (8 km) -
 1. Adero Nyakisi (Prisons)    25:45
 2. Janet Achola (Prisons)     26:26
 3. Emily Kibet (UPDF)         26:47
 4. Catherine Webombesa (UPDF) 26:59
 5. Linet Toroitich (Standard) 27:07
 6. Caroline Migadde (UPDF)    27:38

Junior WOMEN (6 km) -
 1. Annet  Negesa (Standard)   18:39
 2. Rebecca Cheptegei (UPDF)   18:57
 3. Voila Chemos (Arua)        19:13
 4. Mercy Chelegant (Standard) 20:01
 5. Nancy Rotich (Standard)    20:02
 6. Adha Mongolia (Arua)       20:16