Anil Kumar in the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium after his 100m record run (Rahul Pawar) © Copyright
General News

Kumar improves Indian 100m record

New Delhi, IndiaThe Indian Army’s Anil Kumar ran a splendid race to improve upon his national 100m record from 10.33 to 10.30 at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Wednesday evening (24).

The 4th leg of Indian Grand Prix Circuit Athletics meet, served as the final assessment trials for the team for the Asian championships to be held in Incheon, Korea (1 - 4 September).

Kumar, the silver medallist in the continental meet five years ago at Jakarta-2000, recently posted a victory at the Asian Grand Prix in Singapore on 21 June.

The sprinter posted an impressive time of 10.21 in Bangalore during the year 2000 but in the absence of doping control the time was not ratified by the Indian Federation. Hence Kumar’s time of 10.33, which he clocked while finishing behind Srilanka’s Chinthaka de Soyza (10.29) in an international circuit meet held at Chennai in 1999, remained as the national record till today.
"I am very happy.  I knew it was going to be a record well before the race" a smiling Kumar told the media immediately after the race.

Deepthi Jose won today’s women’s race clocking 11.98 after two more athletes were disqualified for false start. One of these disqualified runners was Poonam Tomar who is currently ranked 8th in the Asian lists in 100m with 11.55 but she also has injury problems to tackle. 

P.J. Vinod overwhelmed Maha Singh in the Long Jump, while Arun D’Souza continued his winning sequence in the 3000m Steeplechase.

800m runners Ghamanda Ram (1:47.31) and Shanthi (2:05.24) as well as Sathi Geetha, Jagdish Bishnoi, Navpreet Singh and Rajwinder Kaur also registered notable performances in their respective events.

Ram. Murali Krishnan for the IAAF



1. Anil Kumar (Services) 10.30 (National Record); 2. Sandeep Sarkaria (Delhi) 10.46; 3. H. Jayachandran (LIC) 10.57;

Race-A: 1. Anilkumar Rohil (Services) 46.80; 2. Bhupinder Singh (ONGC) 46.82; 3. Satbir Singh (Services) 47.00;
Race-B: 1. S. Srinivas (Railways) 47.85;

1. Ghamanda Ram (Services) 1:47.31; 2. Francis Sahayaraj (Services) 1:48.50; 3. Josemon Mathew (Services) 1:49.69;

1. Kuldip Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 8:13.36; 2. Sunil Kumar (Haryana) 8:13.97; 3. Raghunath (Railways) 8:21.18;

3,000m Steeplechase:
1. Arun D’Souza (Railways) 8:55.39; 2. Bhagwan Giri (Railways) 9:01.62; 3. Vikas Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 9:39.77;

Pole Vault:
1. Gajanan Kumar Upadhyay (Railways) 4.90; 2. V.V. Geesh Kumar (CISF) 4.80; 3. Ranjith Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 4.70;

Long Jump:
1. P.J. Vinod (Kerala) 7.63/+0.7; 2. Maha Singh (Punjab) 7.58/+0.9; 3. Shivshankar Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 7.56/-0.4;

Shot Put:
1. Navpreet Singh (Punjab Police) 18.53; 2. Shakti Singh (Haryana) 18.21; 3. Jaiveer Singh (Services) 17.83;

Hammer Throw:
1. Madhu Kumar (Haryana) 61.12; 2. Harpal Singh (Punjab) 60.83; 3. Nirbhay Singh (Services) 60.46;

Javelin Throw:
1. Jagdish Bishnoi (Punjab Police) 77.17; 2. Sunil Goswami (Delhi) 72.24; 3. Om Narain (Railways) 71.77;

1. National “Select” Team (Anil Kumar, Sandeep Sarkaria, Vilas Neelgund, Hariharan Jayachandran) 40.04;


1. Deepthi Jose (Kerala) 11.98; 2. Mandeep Kaur (Punjab) 11.99; 3. G.D. Gowramma (Karnataka) 12.09;

Race-A: 1. Sathi Geetha (Andhra Pradesh) 52.18; 2. Manjith Kaur (Punjab Police) 52.33; 3. Chitra K. Soman (Jharkhand) 54.38;
Race-B: 1. C. Bhuvaneswari (Tamil Nadu) 56.76;

1. S. Shanthi (Tamil Nadu) 2:05.24; 2. Pinki Parmanik (Railways) 2:06.00; 3. Sinimol Paulose (Jharkhand) 2:06.15;

Pole Vault:
1. Chetna Solanki (Railways) 3.70; 2. V.S. Surekha (Railways) 3.60; 3. Geetanjali Bora (Railways) 3.50;

Hammer Throw:
1. Rajwinder Kaur (Punjab) 54.22; 2. Ushma Daryan (Uttar Pradesh) 53.90; 3. Archana Bora (BSF) 44.67;

Javelin Throw:
1. Suman Devi (Uttar Pradesh) 54.36; 2. Megha Pardeshi (Railways) 46.44; 3. Soma Biswas (Railways) 39.59;