Leah Malot wins Kenyan Trials 10,000m (Omulo Okoth) © Copyright
General News Eldoret, Kenya

Malot wins in Eldoret, as Ndereba is injured - three share series Jackpot

Former All Africa Games 10,000 metres champion Leah Malot, 31, won the women's 8km race at the final Athletics Kenya weekend cross country meeting which was held today in Mosoriot, in front of an estimated crowd of 10,000 spectators at a teachers training college, 24km south of Eldoret on a hot, cloudless day.

Malot who is one of the most durable of Kenya's women runners on the international circuit, having won the continental games title in 1987 as a 15 year-old, was all smiles after her win today. “I shall keep on running as long as I am able,” said Malot who clocked 27:32.8.

Malot also took the 10,000m bronze medal at the 1999 and 2003 All Africa Games, and the silver at the 2002 African championships

She was followed home across the country in Mosorit today by Catherine Kirui (27:33.05), a younger sister of former World 5000m champion Ismael Kirui. Little known Grace Momanyi (27:34.03 was third).

However, sadly in the same race a sudden muscle pull with 500 metres to go denied World Marathon champion Catherine Ndereba a podium finish.

Ndereba was lying third and ready to strike but had to retire from the race in agony.

The incident did not disappoint Ndereba who commenced her
cross country season, aiming to represent her unit team in the usually competitive Kenya Prison championships later this season, and hopefully qualify for the World Cross Country
Championships for the first time in her career.

She dismissed the incident as a normal mishap in athletics and also announced she was still undecided on whether to run in Boston or make another crack on the London Marathon title.

Jackpot shared by three

In the presence of the elite, Fridah Domongole who had dominated the weekend meeting series finished fourth in 27:39.03 lacked the surge needed to claim a share of US$15,000 series jackpot for athletes who have won at least three races including today's final.

This year the Jackpot was shared by three athletes Moses Masai (junior men 8km), Peninah Chepchumba (senior women 4km) and Gladys Chemweno (junior women 6km).

In the feature race of the day the men’s 12km race, Nelson Kiplagat, the only jackpot contender was unplaced.

The race attracted 192 athletes and in the end witnessed Barnabas Koskei, 10th in last year’s World Junior Cross Championships emerging victorious, having set a commanding pace which he upped in the final 2km.

Koskei said it felt like a rite of passage to adulthood and that he will be challenging strongly in the national championships. The younger brother of steeplechaser John Koskei, who trains who with some of Kenya’s best athletes including Abraham Chebii, clocked 36:14.8 for the win, and was followed home by David Rono (36:20.2).

Third placed William Todor who made seven international outings in Italy last year, notching up a third in Catarina road race posted 36:23.2.

Commonwealth Games 5000m bronze medallist Willy Kirui
finished a disappointing  sixth.

Eliud Kirui won the men’s 4km race ahead of 244 runners in 10:58.01. Second placed Samson Kiplagat, the younger brother of former World 5000m champion Daniel Komen posted 11:03.04 as former double World Junior cross country champion Philip Mosima made a comeback with a commendable fourth place despite a long lay-off.

Most top Kenyans kept away, not wanting to spoil the day for younger athletes especially the jackpot finalists.

Selected Results:

Senior men 12km:
1. Barnabas Kosgei {Puma} 36:14.8  2.Daniel Rono {Saucony} 36:20.2. 3. William Yator {Ind} 36:23.2. 4. Robert Cheboror {Global} 36:34.7. 5. David Koech {Indi} 36:43.0. 6. Willy Kirui {Fila Strobarg} 36:48.6. 7. Evans Kiprop {NYS} 36:50.08. 8. Nelson Birgen {Prisons} 36:53.6. 9. Elias Kemboi {Ind} 36:55.5. 10. Kibet Maiyo {Puma} 36:58.8.

Senior Men 4km:
1. Eliud Kirui {Ind} 10:58.01. 2.Samson Kiplagat {Puma} 11:03.04. 3. James Kipketer {Global} 11:12.04  4. Philip Mosima {Global} 11:15.03. 5. Kipchirchir Komen {HPTC} 11:16.04.  6. Evans
Kipchumba {Prisons} 11:17.06 7. John Kipchumba {Prisons} 11:18.03. 8. John Chemisto {Ind} 11:18.08. 9. James Rotich {Ind} 11:19.00. 10. Edwin Komen {Ind} 11:21.06.

Junior men 8Km:
1. Moses Masai {Stellar Club} 23:40.0. 2. Lawrence Kiprotich {Fila} 23:54.00. 3. Wilfred Yator {Stellar club} 23:56.06. 4. Johnston Chepkwony {Fila}24:00.01. 5. Hosea Macharinyang {Fila} 24:01.02. 6. Wilfred Cheserek {Stellar club} 24:05.08
7. Patrick Kipkemboi {Puma} 24:06.05. 8. Edwin Kipchom {Ind} 24:11.05. 9. Dennis Kipkurui {Ngong} 24:18.00.

Senior Women 8km:
1. Leah Malot {Telkom} 27:32.8. 2. Catherine Kirui {Prisons} 27:33.05. 3. Grace Momanyi {Ind} 27:3403. 4. Fridah Domongole {Kapsait} 27:39.03. 5. Caroline Jeptanui {Adidas} 27:51.02. 6. Pauline Jemeli {Adidas} 28:13.00. 7. Priscah Jerotich {Adidas} 28:23.00. 8. Jane Omoro {Telkom} 28:28.10. 9. Philomena Cheyech {Kapsait} 28:52.00. 10. Betrice Omwanza {Telkom} 28:57.08.

Senior Women 4Km:
1. Peninah Chepchumba {Ind} 12:46.4. 2. Rebecca Limo {Ind} 12:58.3. 3. Valentine Koech {Matungen} 13:10.7. 4. Betrice Jepchumba {Itigo} 13:18.0. 5. Getrude Chepkoech {Kapsait} 13:28.8 . 6. Agnes Cheruto {Kapsait} 13:26.4. 7. Beatrice Rutto {Kapsigo} 13:29.3. 8. Viola Bor {Indi} 13:30.0. 9. Edna Mugwana {Kapsait} 13:32.4. 10. Mercy Kwambai {Matungen} 13:36.5.

Junior Women 6Km:
1. Gladys Chemweno(Kapsait) 20.04.10 2 Jebichi Yator (Adidas) 20.06.40 3 Pamela Lisoreng (Fida) 20.09.00 4 Zeddy Chebas (Adidas) 20.11.60 5 Pauline Korkwang Fila 20.28.10 6 Albin Tuhamuk (Fila) 20.36.10 7 Irene Birgen (Kapkenda) 20.36.60 8 Sharon Jemutai (Kaptarakwa) 9 Chemutai Deostukei (Fila) 20.47.60 10 Nelly Chepkemoi (Fila) 20.51.60. 


15Km road Race (Men):
1. Wlson Kiprotich 46:30, 2 William Kiplagat 46:33, 3 Thomas Chemitei 46:40, 4 Reuben Chebii 46:47, 5 Simon Maiyo 47:28, 6 Philip Kiptoo 47:42, 7 Solomon Korir 47:45, 8 Noah Talam 47:54, 9 Zeblon Kimutai 48:00, 10 Paul Lomoi 48:23.