Inês Monteiro takes the victory in Oeiras XC 2008 (Marcelino Almeida) © Copyright
General News

Martinez and Monteiro take European 10,000m cup titles

José Manuel Martinez from Spain and Portugal's Inês Monteiro won the 13th European Cup 10,000m in Ribeira Brava, on the Portuguese island of Madeira on Saturday (6).

Monteiro, ninth in the Cup three years ago, ran to a 31:34.17 victory, knocking 30 seconds from her previous career best set a year ago at the Portuguese national championships. Monteiro defeated Serbia's Oliver Jevtic (31:35.92) bynearly two seconds while Portugal's Dulce Felix rounded out the top three in 31:40.60. Ana Dias, also from Portugal, finished fourth in 31:42.94 to also dip under the World Championships 'A' qualifying standard.

The trio combined for a 1:34:57.71 clocking to easily take the women's team title over Great Britain.

Martinez, the winner of the Cup in 2004, took a convincing four second victory of Portugal's Rui Pedro Silva in 27:57.61. Jose Rocha was third in 28:15.44 to complete a podium 2-3 for Portugal.

Like their female compatriots, Portugal took the men's team title as well, beating the Russian trio of Sergey Ivanov (fourth, 28:24.83) and brothers Yevgeniy (sixth, 28:26.39) and Anatoliy (ninth, 28:44.75) Rybakov.

Bob Ramsak for the IAAF

Click here for full results