Monaco 2007 logo - 12th Games of the Small States of Europe (c) © Copyright
General News Monaco

Monaco welcomes a small world of great talent

The 12th Games of the Small States of Europe will take place in Monaco from 4 to 9 June 2007.

The Games of the Small States of Europe is a biannual multi-sport event that has been organized since 1985 by a group of Europe's smallest states. All the members have autonomous National Olympic Committees, and the states need to have a population of less than one million to be eligible to participate.  

In Monaco 2007, the 12 sporting disciplines will be athletics, basketball, gymnastics, judo, shooting, sailing, swimming, table tennis, bowls, tennis, beach volley and volleyball.

In terms of track and field athletics, there is a Athletic Association of the Small States of Europe (AASSE) whose members are Andorra, Cyprus, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, and San Marino.

There will be a full programme of stadium athletics events - click here for ENTRY lists and RESULTS - for both men and women with the exception of the women’s 3000m Steeplechase and both Hammer Throws which will not be staged. All events will take place in the Louis II stadium which is situated in the Fontvieille area of Monaco, and which also plays host to the annual IAAF Super Grand Prix meeting.

While not delivering earth shattering results across all disciplines, the Games’ records and performances show that world class action usually highlights each track and field programme, with Icelandic vaulters, jumpers and throwers dominating the infield events. Cypriot athletes also to the fore in these events, and are also the powerhouse of the track races.

In order to accommodate all participants together - athletes, coaches, officials - in one location, all delegations are being accommodated on a 532 cabin cruise ship which arrived on Sunday 3 June and will be moored to the harbour wall in Monaco for the entire week.

Chris Turner for the IAAF

Click on the following links to Official Websites for further information:

Monaco 2007

Athletic Association of the Small States of Europe (AASSE)

Hosts of previous Games of the Small States of Europe:
1985 - San Marino, San Marino
1987 - Monte Carlo, Monaco
1989 - Nicosia, Cyprus
1991 - Andorrà la Vella, Andorra
1993 - Valletta, Malta
1995 - Luxembourg, Luxembourg
1997 - Reykjavík, Iceland
1999 - Vaduz, Liechtenstein
2001 - San Marino, San Marino
2003 - Valletta, Malta
2005 - Andorrà la Vella, Andorra