Moses Mosop - Winner of the senior men race in this year's Wareng Tuskys Cross Country on his way to the finishing line. (David Macharia) © Copyright
General News Eldoret, Kenya

Mosop back from injury takes emphatic cross country win in Eldoret

2007 World Cross Country Championhips silver medallist Moses Mosop sent a strong signal of his intention to make the Kenyan team for next year’s edition of the World XC in Amman, Jordan (28 March), by taking a dominant victory in the men’s senior contest at the third edition of the annual Wareng Tuskys Cross Country race held today (30 Nov) in Eldoret.
Mosop, who won the World silver behind Eritrean Zersenay Tadese at the 2007 World Cross Country Championships held in Mombasa, took command of today’s 12km race at halfway and set a strong pace that scattered a group of 12 athletes who had run together for the first two laps.
Olympic 1500m silver medallist Asbel Kiprop, a former World Cross Country junior champion, could not keep up with the fast initial pace and dropped out after two laps of the senior race.
Mosop, who was out of action for most of last season due to injury, said “I am in good shape and feel I can face (Kenenisa) Bekele at the World Cross.” NOTE. Bekele is currently injured and might miss the entire season because of a severe bruised ankle.
Second was Peter Muriuki, who is coached by Yobes Ondieki, 1991 World 5000 champion and the first athlete to run 10,000m under 27 minutes.
The senior men's event attracted 250 athletes.


Helah Kiprop carried the senior women’s 8km race title in 28:33.8 after battling with Florence Kiplagat, who was 5th at the 2007 World Cross in Mombasa, and Lineth Chepkurui, 12th at this year’s World Cross in Edinburgh, for the better part of the race.
Kiplagat was particularly disappointed after leading until 3km to go. Chepkurui finished second in 28:35.8, and Kiplagat third in 28:53.1.
Rose Chesongol, who was second at this year’s Tegla Loroupe Peace Race, finished 4th in 29:39.2.
The senior women race had one other notable athlete, 800m/1500m runner Florence Jepkemboi who finished in 5th position in 29:39.5. Another 800m runner Pamela Jelimo, who this year became the Olympic gold medallist and Golden League Jackpot winner, launched her serious competition campaign at the Wareng race last year before venturing into the international scene, and great things are similarly predicted for the inexperienced Jepkemboi.

The junior men's 8km race was comfortably won by Josephat Bett in 24:52.1. Bett was also the winner of the junior race at the second Athletics Kenya cross country series in Kericho a few weeks ago.

Today, spectators could not pick the winner until the last kilometre when Bett increased his speed giving him the title ahead of Cheprot Kipsirat (24:54.6) and Charles Kibet who clocked 24:59.2.
The junior women 8km race was easily won by World Junior 3000m champion Mercy Cherono in 21:10.3.  Cherono overcame an early assault by Hilda Chepkemoi who finished second in 21:22.5, and Purity Cherotich who was third in 21:28.5.

Among the spectators at the meeting were the chairman of the National Olympic Committee of Kenya Kipchoge Keino, and the manager of the Olympic Games Cooperation Department of the Japanese Olympic Committee Tetsuo Nakayama.
David Macharia (Daily Nation) for IAAF

6km Junior Women
1. Mercy Cherono 21:10.3
2. Hilda Chepkemoi 21:22.5
3. Purity Cherotich 21:28.5
4. Jackline Chebii 21:46.7
5. Irene Chebet 21:55.2
6. Gladys Cherotich 21:56.8
7.Jackline Atondonyang 22:02.4
8. Judith Chepkoech 22:03.8
9. Brigid Chepchirchir 22:07.3
10. Esther Kakuri 22:12.5

8km Junior men
1. Josephat Bett 24:52.1
2. Cheprot Kipsirat 24:54.6
3. Charles Kibet 24:59.2
4. Lucas Rotich 25:04.2
5. Peter Koskei 25:05.3
6. Mike Mutai 25:09.9
7. Japhet Korir 25:10.8
8. John Kiplimo 25:12.9
9. Robert Korir 25:14.3
10. Stephen Kosgey 25:18.8

8km Senior Women
1. Helah Kiprop 28:33.8
2. Lineth Chepkurui 28:35.8
3. Florence Kiplagat 28:53.1
4. Rose Chesongol 29:39.2
5. Florence Jepkemboi 29:39.5
6. Alicen Rutto 29:48.2
7. Caroline Komen 29:50.6
8. Rose Matebo 30:01.1
9. Naomi Asiywat 30:13.3
10. Veronica Chepkorir 30:17.4

12km senior men
1. Moses Mosop 36:34.6
2. Peter Muriuki 37:18.5
3. Hosea Macharinyang 37:31.6
4. Wilson Kiprop 37:37.8
5. Stephen Kiprotich 37:43.7
6. Edwin Koech 37:47.4
7. Collins Koskei 37:47.9
8. Levy Matebo 37:57.7
9. Philemon Kimeli 38:02.4
10. Timothy Kiptoo 38:06.7