IAAF logo (IAAF.org) © Copyright
General News

Nagano Marathon cancelled - Change to Daegu team selection procedure

In the wake of the continuing earthquake tragedy in Japan, the Nagano Olympic Commemorative Marathon, an IAAF Bronze Label Road Race scheduled for Sunday 17 April, has been cancelled.

Nagano Organisers have announced that all entry fees collected for the race will be donated to earthquake and tsunami victims.

Originally, the Nagoya Women's marathon was a qualifying race for the World Championships marathon team. When it was cancelled due to the earthquake / tsunami of 10 March, Nagano marathon was generally considered to be the candidate for its replacement.  Then the Nagano marathon was also cancelled.

Now JAAF has designated London, Daegu and Boston marathons as the World Championships marathon team qualifying race.

Here is where the principal runners will now battle for team places - Yuri Kano, Yurika Nakamura, Mizuho Nasukawa, Azusa Nojiri, Yukari Sahaku Yoshiko Fujinaga and Madoka Ogi have indicated that they will run London, while Hiromi Ominami will compete in Boston, and Yuko Machida and Seika Iwamura will toe the line in Daegu.

The exact qualifying standard along with part of the World Championships marathon team (all the men and part of women (Yoshimi Ozaki has qualified automatically in Yokohama) will be announced on March 31.

Ken Nakamura for the IAAF