Krisztian Pars of Hungary reacts in the Men's Hammer Final (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News Monaco

Pars and Heidler take overall titles and prize of $30,000 each

MonacoKrisztián Pars of Hungary and Germany’s Betty Heidler are the winners of the IAAF World Hammer Throw Challenge and will each receive a prize of US$30,000.

Pars, the silver medallist at the IAAF World Championships in Daegu, spun to victory in three of the series’ competitions to claim the title over Dilshod Nazarov by less than four metres. Nazarov took runner-up honours for the second consecutive year, propelled by his victory in the series capping competition in Zagreb.

Heidler, the World record holder, also collected three victories in the series to successfully defend her series title. The World championships silver medallist produced a comfortable margin of more than seven metres over Yipsi Moreno of Cuba who notched an early series victory in Rio de Janeiro.

The Second season of the IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge consisted of nine meetings with seven scoring opportunities for men and six for women.

In order to be ranked in the final Overall Standings, an athlete had to have participated in at least three events with only their best three results scoring for the ranking (scoring corresponds to the distance thrown), with the highest three scores deciding the overall men’s and women’s winners.

The top 12 positions in the Challenge were rewarded* - total of US$202,000 ($101,000 for Men and Women) in prize money - as follows: 1st place: $30,000 - 2nd place: $20,000 - 3rd place: $14,000 - 4th place: $9000 - 5th place: $7000 - 6th place: $6000 - 7th place: $4500 - 8th place: $4000 - 9th place: $3000 - 10th place: $2000 - 11th place: $1000 - 12th place: $500.

*subject to usual anti-doping controls

Men -

1. Krisztián Pars (HUN) 239.03

2. Dilshod Nazarov (TJK) 235.72

3. Primož Kozmus (SLO) 233.9

Click here for full standings

Women -

1. Betty Heidler (GER) 228.09

2. Yipsi Moreno (CUB) 220.46

3. Kathrin Klaas (GER) 219.77

Click here for full standings