Tomasz Majewski unleashes a 21.51m winning throw (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News Eugene, Oregon

Prefontaine secures Beijing gold medallists for each of its throwing events

In the three throwing events at this year's Prefontaine Classic on 7 June, each is headlined by the Olympic gold medallist from Beijing in that event - 3 out of 3, the perfect score!

The Prefontaine Classic is a Grand Prix status event as part of the 2009 IAAF World Athletics Tour.

In the men's Shot Put, it's a clean sweep with the gold, silver and bronze medallists respectively Tomasz Majewski of Poland, USA’s Christian Cantwell and Andrei Mikhnevich of Belarus lining-up to compete. 

As well the Beijing podium defending Pre Classic champion Adam Nelson and reigning World champion Reese Hoffa, who has the farthest throw in the world this year, will also compete in what is arguably one of the best field of shot putters ever assembled on American soil.

American Olympic gold medallist Stephanie Brown Trafton takes centre stage in the Discus circle, returning to Hayward Field where she narrowly made the Olympic team last summer. The defending Pre Classic champion then went onto Beijing to become the first U.S. gold medallist in the event since 1932 in what was one of the biggest upsets of the Games.

Brown Trafton will be joined by Olympic Trials winner Aretha Thurmond, ranked 10th in the world, and American record holder Suzy Powell.

Adding to the Beijing medal haul is the women's Hammer Throw, which features the Olympic champion Aksana Miankova of Belarus, who makes her first visit to Hayward Field, as does Olympic bronze medallist Wenxiu Zhang of China. 

In addition the Hammer features Darya Pchelnik of Belarus who with 76.33m was the fourth furthest thrower in the world in 2008, and reigning World champion Betty Heidler of Germany, who was last year's Prefontaine Classic winner.

Organisers for the IAAF


Tomasz Majewski (Poland)
Christian Cantwell
Andrey Mikhnevich (Belarus)
Reese Hoffa
Adam Nelson
Dorian Scott (Jamaica)
Dylan Armstrong (Canada)
Dan Taylor


Stephanie Brown Trafton
Aretha Thurmond
Suzy Powell
Becky Breisch
Summer Pierson
Gia Lewis-Smallwood


Oksana Menkova (Belarus)
Xiang Wenxiu (China)
Betty Heidler (Germany)
Britney Henry
Amber Campbell
Jessica Cosby
Darya Pchelnick (Belarus)
Sultana Frizell (Canada)
Loree Smith