Paula Radcliffe (GBR) wins the 10th European Cross Country Championships (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

Radcliffe is selected for both distances in Brussels

Paula Radcliffe, the World Cross Country long course (8km) Champion in both 2001 and 2002, has been selected for both the 8km and 4km races for the 32nd IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Brussels, Belgium (20-21 March 2004.

Radcliffe, the reigning European champion and the World Marathon record holder is joined by three of the team she led to victory at the European Cross Country Championships in Edinburgh - sisters-in-law Hayley and Liz Yelling plus Kathy Butler, winner of the Reebok UK Inter-Counties title on Saturday - plus Natalie Harvey, making her debut as a Great Britain and Northern Ireland athlete, and Louise Damen, who was 28th in the 8km at last year's IAAF World Cross Country Championships.

Alongside Radcliffe in the 4km team are Jo Pavey, who was fifth in the 3000m at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Budapest last weekend; Commonwealth Games 1500m Bronze medallist Helen Clitheroe; plus three of the brightest prospects for the future - the new UK 4km Champion Kate Reed, European Under 23 1500m Silver medallist Lisa Dobriskey and Scottish 4km Champion Freya Murray.

The Senior Men's Team is led by Glynn Tromans, who qualified for his eighth successive IAAF World Cross Country Championships by winning his fourth Inter-Counties title, and Jon Brown, the European Cross Country Champion in 1996, who placed eighth in the 1999 World Cross Country Championships and fourth in the Sydney Olympics marathon. He is currently in training for an April marathon and, having confirmed his availability and fitness, has been selected on the basis of his undoubted pedigree.

Of the Juniors, Dani Barnes, who won the 1500m Silver medal at last summer's European Junior Championships, finished ninth in the Junior race at this winter's European Cross Country Championships.


Senior Men 12km
Jon Brown (Sheffield AC)
Billy Farquharson (Mansfield Harriers)
Ben Noad (Bristol AC)
Chris Thompson (Aldershot, Farnham and District AC)
Glynn Tromans (Coventry Godiva Harriers)
Robert Whalley (City of Stoke AC)

Senior Men 4km
Andrew Baddeley (Harrow AC)
Rob Birchall (Notts AC)
Andrew Graffin (Belgrave Harriers)

Junior Men
Gary Davenport (Bristol AC)
Keith Gerrard (Manx Harriers)
Chris Lamb (Chester le Street)
Anthony Moran (Trafford AC)
Jonathan Thewlis (Rotherham Harriers)
Andrew Vernon (Aldershot, Farnham and District AC)

Senior Women 8km
Kathy Butler (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC)
Louise Damen (Bournemouth AC)
Natalie Harvey (South London Harriers)
Paula Radcliffe (Bedford and County AC)
Liz Yelling (Bedford and County AC)
Hayley Yelling (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC)

Senior Women 4km
Helen Clitheroe (Preston Harriers)
Lisa Dobriskey (Ashford AC)
Freya Murray (Edinburgh Woollen Mill)
Jo Pavey (Exeter Harriers)
Paula Radcliffe (Bedford and County AC)
Kate Reed (Bristol AC)

Junior Women
Dani Barnes (Newquay and Par AC)
Karrie Hawitt (Warrington AC)
Claire Holme (Ipswich Harriers)
Rosie Smith (Durham City Harriers)
Victoria Webster (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers)
Katrina Wootton (Bedford and County AC)