© Copyright
General News

Sevatheda Fynes steals the show

Agency Reports

16 February 2000 - Sevatheda Fynes of the Bahamas was the unexpected star of the show at an indoor meeting in the Spanish capital on Wednesday when she clocked 7.01 seconds to win the women's 60 metres.

Fynes, a member of the 4x100 metres relay team that took a surprise gold medal at last summer's World Championships in Seville, made an impressive return to Spanish soil with the fastest time in the world this year.

She took her record this winter to five wins in six outings, having fallen short only in her opening outing in the German city of Karlsruhe last month.

Fynes equalled her personal best, set at the world indoor championships last year, which made her the seventh fastest woman of all-time at the indoor event.

"I was quite surprised to clock such a fast time after a slow heat," Fynes said.

"But everybody had been telling me how fast this track was so in a sense I am a little disappointed not to break seven seconds," she added, after her last race of the indoor season.

Britain's Jason Gardener failed in his ambition of improving on his European 60 metres record of 6.46 seconds, mainly due to a poor start.

Having been left in the blocks, he was still third with 10 metres to go but held his form to claw back the advantage of Cuba's Freddy Mayola and Trinidad's Ato Boldon.

Gardener clocked 6.48 seconds with Mayola finishing as the runner-up and setting a new personal best of 6.49 seconds.

Boldon, the 1997 200 metres World Championship gold medallist, clocked 6.53 seconds for third place in only his third race after missing much of last summer with a hamstring injury.

Veteran American Tony Dees upset the script that had Cuba's Anier Garcia challenging the world best for the 60 metres hurdles and ran the second faster time of the year to win the event.

Dees, the 1992 Barcelona Olympic silver medallist over 110 metres, overcame the disadvantage of a false start to set a personal best at 36 years of age, stopping the clock in 7.40 seconds.

Dees held off Cuba's Yoel Hernandez, who was given the same time after the judges had examined the photo-finish. It was also a personal best for the Cuban.

Garcia, who set a world-leading 7.37 seconds a week ago in Greece, had a slugglish start after also recording a false start and was third in 7.47 seconds.

Dees' compatriot Kimberley Carson took the women's 60 metres hurdles in 7.82 seconds, which was also the second fastest time of the year.

Cuban Ivan Pedroso kept his crack reputation in the long jump by winning on his first jump with 8.33. He jumped 8.28 on the fourth round. Luis Melis, also Cuban, placed next with 8.21 followed by 8.09 of Slovak Gregor Cankar.

Germany's Tim Lobinger won the pole vault event with 5.81. He was followed by Jeff Hartwig of the US with 5.71 and Kazhak vaulter Grigoriy Yegorov with 5.50.

Leading results from the Madrid Indoor Meeting on Wednesday:

Men's 60 metres
1. Jason Gardener (Britain) 6.48 seconds
2. Freddy Mayola (Cuba) 6.49
3. Ato Boldon (Trinidad) 6.53
Men's 400 metres
1. Juan Trull (Spain) 48.35
2. Andres Martinez (Spain) 49.05
3. Jesus Bonilla (Spain) 50.04
Men's 60 metres hurdles
1. Tony Dees (U.S.) 7.40
2. Yoel Hernandez (Cuba) 7.40
3. Anier Garcia (Cuba) 7.47
Men's pole vault
1. Tim Lobinger (Germany) 5.81 metres
2. Jeff Hartwig (U.S.) 5.71
3=. Rodion Gataullin (Russia) 5.50
3=. Grigoriy Yegorov (Kazakhstan) 5.50
Men's long jump
1. Ivan Pedroso (Cuba) 8.33 metres
2. Luis Melis (Cuba) 8.21
3. Gregor Cankar (Slovenia) 8.09
Women's 60 metres
1. Sevatheda Fynes (Bahamas) 7.01 seconds
2. Ekaterini Thanou (Greece) 7.08
3. Lilliana Allen (Mexico) 7.11
Women's 400 metres
1. Kudi Ahigbe (Nigeria) 54.77
2. Lissette Ferri (Spain) 55.34
3. Arantxa Casero (Spain) 56.27
Women's 1,000 metres
1. Nuria Fernandez (Spain) 2.49:36
2. Ana Amelia Menendez (Spain) 2:49.90
3. Esther Salim (Spain) 2:52.21
Women's 60 metres hurdles
1. Kimberley Carson (U.S.) 7.82
2. Michelle Freeman (Jamiaca) 7.84
3. Glory Alozie (Nigeria) 7.87
Women's long jump
1. Heike Daute-Drechsler (Germany) 6.64 metres
2. Niki Xanthou (Greece) 6.64
3. Olga Rublyova (Russia) 6.58