Mbarak Shami on the path to victory in the 2004 Baringo Half Marathon (Macharia) © Copyright
General News Kabarnet, Kenya

Shami remains in good form

Qatar’s Mbarak Shami continued his winning ways in Kenyan meets when he won the Baringo Half Marathon on Sunday 9 January.

In addition to winning this Half Marathon, Shami won two Athletics Kenya cross country meets – Nairobi and Nyahururu – towards the end of 2004.

Shami, formerly the Kenyan Richard Yatich won the 21 kilometre event last weekend in 1:01:57 relegating Stanley Kipkoskei to second place in 1:02.51.

Increasing the pace of the race with 10km to go, Shami opened up an unassailable lead, and so gradually left Kipkoskei behind. With five kilometres left, Shami had already disappeared from the sight of the other runners on the race route that has uphill and downhill sections as well as beautiful road curves.

The third place went to Thomas Chemitei in 1:02.55.

The women’s 15 kilometres race took place along the same route, and witnessed Irene Jerotich a regular participant at the annual Berlin 25K, winning in 52:49.

Second was Prisca Kiprono in 53:02 and third place went to Hellen Kiprop in 55:18. Grace Wanjiru from Thika who travels to Baringo each year for this race achieved her best position when she finished yesterday’s race in 12th position in 59:08.

The event is sponsored by the World Marathon recorder holder Paul Tergat and other top runners who hail from the area, and attracted its biggest ever participants this year. Tergat announced that from next year the event would be held on a new route where spectators would be able to enjoy the event more.

He also confirmed that he would approach corporate organisations in the hope of boosting the sponsorship of the event to make it bigger and more attractive.

At the end of the race, Tergat was honoured when the local county council announced that the only stadium in Kabarnet town would be named after him.

David Macharia (Daily Nation) for the IAAF

Men (Half Marathon)
(1) Mbarak Shami 1:01.57
(2) Stanley Kipkoskei 1:02.51
(3) Thomas Chemitei 1:02.55
(4) Francis Bowen 1:02.57
(5) Nathan Kosgei 1:03.36
(6) Eric Kiptoon 1:03.45
(7) Abraham Ayabei 1:03. 55
(8) Wilson Rono 1:04.04
(9) Allan Cheptot 1:04.10
(10) Walter Cherutich 1:04.15.

Women (15km)
(1) Irene Jerotich 52:49
(2) Prisca Kiprono 53.02
(3) Hellen Kiprop 55:18
(4) Rebecca Talam 55:37
(5) Susan Teimet 55:42
(6) Chepkoskei Tarus 56:04
(7) Maximila Kemboi 57:34
(8) Caroline Tarus 57:35
(9) Jepchirchir Tarus 58:27
(10) Emily Yego 58:32.