Eamonn Coghlan (IRE) (Getty Images) © Copyright
General News

'The Chairman' returns to New York

New YorkThe inaugural winner of the World Championships 5000m title in Helsinki, 1983, Eamonn Coghlan of Ireland is to return to New York, the city that honed his equally illustrious reputation as one of the World’s greatest ever indoor milers, and run in the New York City Marathon on 3 November 2002.

Coghlan won the famed indoor Wanamaker Mile at the Millrose Games at New York's Madison Square Garden, a record seven times (1977, 1979-81, 1983, 1985, 1987) helping earn the title of "Chairman of the Boards."

The former holder of the world’s fastest ever indoor times for the Mile and 2000 metres, Coghlan will compete seriously in the New York City Marathon for the first time since 1991, it was announced today by Allan Steinfeld, New York City Marathon Race Director and President and CEO of the New York Road Runners.

Coghlan's stated intention is to finish in approximately 2:55-3:00 when the 33rd running of the famed five-borough race is held a week on Sunday. In 1991, Coghlan finished 40th in 2:25:13.

"The New York City Marathon has always been a race of champions, whatever their age," Steinfeld said of the 49-year-old Coghlan. "Eamonn is a true champion and we are honoured to have him in this year's race."

Coghlan set the world indoor standard in the mile at 3:49.78 at the Meadowlands in 1983, a mark that stood until Morocco's Hicham El Guerrouj clocked 3:48.45 in 1997. He also set the 2000-metre world indoor mark at 4:54.07 at Inglewood, in 1987, a mark that stood until 1998, when Haile Gebrselassie of Ethiopia ran 4:52.86.

Coghlan, who will turn 50 on 21 November, will be heading up a group of 130 runners from Ireland who are raising money for the Children's Medical and Research Foundation at Our Lady's Hospital For Sick Children in Crumlin, outside Dublin. He will also again serve as the honorary team captain of the Foot Locker Five Borough Challenge, a unique programme in which five New York City Marathon runners were selected to represent their Boroughs in the race.

NYRRC and Race Results Weekly