Matej Toth (SVK) 3:39:46 in Dudince (Rastislav Hrbáček) © Copyright
General News Dudince, Slovakia

Toth sets 50km road world lead 3:39:46

Slovak World Cup winner Matej Toth celebrated another big career win yesterday (26), becoming the first home winner at the 30th edition of the Dudinska Patdesiatka after six years and clocking a new national record and world season leading time of 3:39:46 for the 50km Race Walk (road).

Dudinska Patdesiatka is an EA Race Walking Permit meeting whose results count to the overall standings of the IAAF Race Walking Challenge.

Toth, 28, who improved his national record from Dudince in 2009 by 1:46, was leading nearly from the beginning of the race and even at 40km he was still ahead of meeting record pace (3:38:45 Yohan Diniz in 2009) by two minutes and it looked like he might go under 3:37 but strong winds at the end slowed him down. Nevertheless it was still the third best time in the history of the race.

"It was like I wanted, fast beginning and then try to see whether I can keep the pace. Only the last five km did not work. But I must be satisfied, sub 3:40 was always my dream," said Toth.

Poland’s Olympic 8th placer Rafal Fedaczynski was second in a personal best of 3:46:05, while third was taken by another Polish race walker Rafal Sikora in another life-time best of 3:46:16, ahead of Lukasz Nowak 3:46:40 and title defender Rafal Augustyn 3:46:56 (PB´s for both) which showed the great depth of Polish race walking.

2007 World champion Nathan Deakes was sixth in 3:48:02 in his first finished 50km race since 2007. Best of Mexicans was seventh Omar Zepeda in 3:50:26 ahead of Bertrand Moulinet of France who improved to 3:50:49 in his first sub 4 hours race. In 9th place, World 20km medallist Eder Sanchez of Mexico debuted at the 50km distance with a solid 3:53:19. Top ten was completed by Cedric Houssaye of France, another personal best 3:53:24. In total 13 walkers achieved a sub 4 hour time.

Ireland’s World championships medallist Olive Loughnane won the women’s 20km in 1:32:40 beating Czech Zuzana Schindlerova (1:33:51) and Ukrainian Nadya Borovska (1:33:59). In the men’s 20km Andriy Kovenko of Ukraine posted 1:21:44 to win ahead of German Carsten Schmidt (1:24:39). The Junior 10 km winners were Igor Puzanov of Ukraine (43:28) and Ireland’s Kate Veale (46:43). In the Youth 10km Patrik Spevak of Slovakia clocked an excellent 43:23 to fulfil the World Youth Championships qualification standard and was faster than the best junior. Czech Anezka Drahotova was the best in youth girls 5 km (23:03).

Alfons Juck for the IAAF