Delano Williams of Turks and Caicos Islands (R) crosses the finish line for winning the Men's 200 metres Final on the day four of the 14th IAAF World Junior Championships in Barcelona on 13 July 2012 (Getty Images) © Copyright

Barcelona 2012 - Event Report - Men's 200m Final

Tonight’s final witnessed big drama when Jamaica’s Julian Forte led comfortably just 25m to the line.

It was then that Forte began to slow down his speed dramatically with evident signals of pain on his face due to cramps on his right leg.

As a result, the Jamaican rising star was overtaken one by one by his seven opponents but he still reached the finish line in 21.00.

Drawn in lane 7 Forte had a fine start as he had America’s World leader Tyreek Hill just outside him in lane 8 but entering the home straight Forte began to build a sizeable margin over the American.

It was clear then that barring disaster the Forte would be the convincing victor but disaster quickly struck in the guise of injury any hope of medal vanishing for the 19-year-old Technology student.

Reportedly, Forte didn’t enter the 100m event as he often gets injured when he performs over the distance, opting for the 200m event instead but that cautious decision proved to be not enough to avoid injury.

With Forte out of the medals fight the final 25 metres were more than thrilling as the fast-finishing Hill began to falter and was caught by the World 100m silver medallist Aaron Ernest also of the US and Delano Williams of Turks and Caicos Islands.

The Jamaica-based Williams had a poor start but he made up in the second half of the race to finally claim the first ever medal at any event in the history of the championships for his country.

The winner’s time 20.48 was a career best and also a national record while the now twice silver medallist in Barcelona Ernest bettered his previous best by one hundredth to 20.53.

Hill, who finished just outside the medals in the 100m, held off the late challenge by Poland’s Karol Zalewski, to finally land a World bronze medal, both athletes timed at 20.54, a national record for the Pole.

Emeterio Valiente for the IAAF