Brazil’s Alan Fonteles Cardoso Oliveira winning at the 2013 IPC Athletics World Championships ( IPC Athletics World Championships Lyon 2013) © Copyright
Report Lyon, France

Face of Rio 2016, Alan Fonteles Cardoso Oliveira, among the record setters at the IPC Athletics World Championships

Nine world records fell on the second day of competition at the IPC Athletics World Championships in Lyon, France, but it was Brazil’s Paralympic champion Alan Fonteles Cardoso Oliveira who stole the show as he sped to victory in the 200m T43 in a World record 20.66 on Sunday (21).

“I am really happy about my performance,” said Oliveira. “I made a great start, and then in the straight I saw on the giant screen that I was leading with a good distance. I saw the seconds passing by and I realised I could break the world record. I hope I will do the same in the 100m.”

There was an American clean sweep in the men’s 200m T44 but Jarryd Wallace took the honours as he raced home to take his first World Championships gold, lowering the World record for the second time this World Championships.

The 23-year-old powered round the bend in first place and held on to his lead to take the title ahead of David Prince and Jerome Singleton in 22.08.

“I’m humbled, very humbled,” commented Wallace. “I’ve been working for three years for this moment. The day I made the decision to have my leg amputated in February 2010 I pulled up the World record list and I said my name will be on this list. I didn’t know when or which event, I just knew it was going to happen.”

There was further glory for the USA as teenager Raymond Martin picked up his second gold at Lyon 2013, winning the 800m T52 with a championship record time of 1:59.52.

McFadden at the double

Not to be outdone, fellow American Tatyana McFadden also secured her second gold of the Championships, winning the 5000m T54 in 12:08.07 to add the 200m title she took in the morning session in 28.69.

“That’s amazing, this is my second gold medal in two days. It was obviously the toughest race, but I felt confident and I have been training a lot for this race,” said McFadden.

Switzerland’s Marcel Hug also notched up his second victory, taking the T54 400m title in a championship record time of 47.15 while Canada’s Brent Lakatos added a world gold to the London 2012 Paralympic Games silver he won last year in the men’s T53 400m, clocking a championship record 49.02.

Ireland’s double Paralympic sprint champion Jason Smyth was in terrific shape as he equalled his own 200m T13 World record to take the title in 21.05.

Smyth’s team mate Michael McKillop continued his domination of the men’s T37 middle distances with a magnificent performance in the 800m.

Leading from the front, the 23-year-old smashed his own World record to secure his third consecutive 800m T37 world title in a time of 1:57.17, over five seconds faster than Australia’s Brad Scott who took the silver medal.

“I just tried to come across the line first that is my aim and if the time comes that is a bonus. I wasn’t looking for times I was just looking to win. I’m very happy with that, I didn’t expect the time when you are out on your own all you want to do is keep chasing and chasing, and thankfully that’s what resulted in the time,” said McKillop.

Italy’s Annalisa Minetti took gold in the women’s 800m T11 final, clocking a new championship record of 2:21.82.

There were two world records in the field in the afternoon. Cuba’s Paralympic champion Leonardo Diaz set a new standard of 45.32m (1011 points) in the Discus F54/55/56 to retain his World title, and Ukraine’s Mariia Pomazan also held on to the title she won in New Zealand in 2011 with a World record in the women’s Shot Put F35/36, throwing 12.35m (1038 points).

USA’s 2012 Paralympic Games champion Jeremy Campbell won the battle against Great Britain’s defending champion Dan Greaves in the men’s Discus F44 with a winning throw of 58.86m.

The women’s Long Jump T11 was won by Brazil’s Lorena Spoladore, with 4.37m while victory in the men’s Long Jump T42 went to Japan’s Atsushi Yamamato with a best leap of 6.11m.

IPC Athletics for the IAAF