Ezekiel Kemboi leads in the 1500m race during the North Rift provincial championships (David Macharia) © Copyright
Report Eldoret, Kenya

Kemboi wins again - North Rift Championships Report

Olympic 3000 metres Steeplechase champion Ezekiel Kemboi registered another deserved victory, a week after winning the Armed Forces steeple title, during the North Rift championships in Eldoret on Friday.

The Berlin 25km champion Rose Cheruiyot spiced up the women's competition in a meeting devoid of world beating Kenyans who are in Europe for international engagements when she won the 5000 metres.

Kemboi who is preparing for the final national trials for the Helsinki World Championships in a bid to book a ticket and meet Qatar's Saif Saaeed Shaheen in the water jumps and hurdles events opted for the 1500m.

Despite running on a murram track but under ideal weather conditions, he clocked 3:45.9 after taking the lead with 300m to go. Nobody took the initiative to challenge him as second placed Nicholas Kemboi who clocked 3:47.1 concentrated in safe guarding his position following a thrilling finish with Yusuf Biwott (3:47.5).

In victory, Kemboi, second at the World Championships two years ago behind Shaheen said: "I have kept off high profile world meets as a strategy of keeping my opponents guessing. I am sure they will see my ability at the trials."

The Kenya sport governing body will give Kemboi a bye for the nationals three weeks from now but he is still welcome to compete in a distance of his choice as part of his World Championships preparation.

This, Kemboi said was welcome because his most important worry at the moment was on how to improve on his speed.

Kimeli takes 10,000m win

The men’s 10,000m race produced the fastest time in Kenya this year of 28:0.1, set by Moses Kimeli of Keiyo. Equally fast was second placed Augustine Togom of North Nandi who clocked 28:04.5 and was followed by Emmanuel Mutai of Uasin Gishu in 28:09.02.

The Tegla Lorupe Peace Race champion David Plimo won the 5000m in 14:07.5. Second was Jonas Cheruiyot of IOC in 14:07.9 and third was Matelong Rono of North Nandi in 14:08.6
Cheruiyot best in women events.

Cheruiyot beat Gladys Chemweno, ninth in last year World cross at the junior level, after steadily building on her speed to lengthen the distance, clocking 16:16.5. Chemweno's efforts yielded 16:23.9 with Vivian Cherono taking third in 17:03.4.

Another participant in the junior category at last year’s World Cross Country Championships Jebichi Yator finished seventh in 17:20.05.

Peter Njenga (Daily Nation) for IAAF

Leading results
1: Brenali Maritim (T/Nzoia) 11.07
2: Job Kibet (Turkana) 11.26
3: Charles Chelanga (Baringo) 11.29

1: Charles Chelanga (Baringo) 22.43
2: Nixon Kosgei (UG) 22.50
3: Bernard Martin 22.67.

1: Julius Kirwa (N/Nandi) 47.8
2: Solomon Birir (UG) 48.1
3: Sammy Tangui (Marakwet) 48.2

1: Joseph Boit (N/Nandi) 1:50.21
2: Mohammed Farah (IOC) 1:51.37
3: Elijah Boit (UG) 1:51.42

1: Ezekiel Kemboi (UG) 3:45.9
2: Nicholas Kemboi (N/Nandi) 3:47.1
3: Yusuf Biwott (Ind) 3:47.5

1: David Plimo (W/Pokot) 14:07.5
2: Jonas Cheruiyot (IOC) 14:07.9
3: Matelong Rono 14:08.6

1. Moses Kimeli (Keiyo) 28:0.1
2:Augustine Togom (N/Nandi) 28:04.5
3: Emmanuel Mutai (U/Gishu) 28:09.02.

3000m Steeplechase
1: Nathan Naibei (Marakwet) 8:58.94
2: Christopher Boit (UG) 9:04.04
3: Bisluke Kipkorir (Keiyo) 9:14.62

400m Hurdles
1: Mark Bett (U/G) 54.8
2: Daniel Kerich (UG) 55.0
3: Kiptoo Chirchir (N/Nandi) 55.43

10km Walk
1: Hosea Rutto (N/Nandi) 55:54.9
2: Joseph Koech (UG) 55:55.6
3:Bethuel Kiplagat (N/Nandi) 56:25.6

1: Josephine Kirwa (Keiyo) 26.91
2: Mercy Kemboi (N/South) 27.19
3: Cheptoo Chemweno (Keiyo) 27.27

1: Lwiza John (Tanzania) 58.7
2: Pamela Chelimo (Nandi South) 58.9
3: Nelly Chepkosgei (UG) 59.9

1: Viola Kibiwott (Keiyo) 2:09.08
2: Gladys Kwambai (IOC) 2:10.43
3: Sally Chepyego (Keiyo) 2:13.25

1:Irene Jelagat (Marakwet) 4:27.4
2: Mercy Kosgei (Keiyo) 4:27.9
3: Valentine Koech (Keiyo) 4:28.4

1: Rose Cheruiyot (UG) 16:16.5
2: Gladys Chemweno (Marakwet) 16:23.9
3: Vivian Cherono (Marakwet) 17:03.4

1: Anne Cheptanui (Marakwet) 36:39.8
2: Chebokoro Losiakat (W/Pokot) 36:44.2
3: Leonida Mosop (UG) 37:28.2

3000m Steeplechase
1: Jackline Chemwok (W/Pokot) 10:30.25
2: Rael Murkomen (Marakwet) 10:48.16
3: Charity Kiprono (Keiyo) 10:57.79.