Jamaica's Warren Weir in action in the 200m (Getty Images) © Copyright
Report Kingston, Jamaica

Weir and McPherson impress in Kingston

World champion Yohan Blake failed to finish his first 100m race of the season, but there were several other highlights at the UTech Classic in Kingson on Saturday (13) as Warren Weir won the 200m and Stephanie McPherson improved on her world-leading 400m time.

Blake, who won silver medals in both the 100m and 200m at the London Olympic Games, suffered cramps after 70m and stopped. He held on to his left hamstring before hopping across the track on to the football field. Minutes after the event, he tweeted: "I’m good… just a cramp"

Kim Collins, who won bronze behind Blake at the 2011 World Championships, got a very good start and was leading up to the point where Blake stopped. The 37-year-old from St Kitts & Nevis won in 10.25 (-0.8m/s), ahead of Jason Livermore who set a PB of 10.29.

“10.25 is a good season opener,” said a very pleased Collins, who is getting ready for the first IAAF Diamond League meeting of the season in Doha.

Weir, the London Olympic 200m bronze medallist, made easy work of his victory in his specialist event, clocking 20.33 into a stiff -1.5m/s headwind. He comfortably beat training partner Daniel Bailey of Antigua, who ran 20.67. Rasheed Dwyer was third (20.82), ahead of Nesta Carter (20.93).

In the women’s 400m, McPherson basically ran alone to take the event in 50.74, lowering the world-leading mark of 50.78 she set last weekend at Jamaica's Inter Collegiate Championships. Anastasia Le-Roy, who was not at her best, finished almost three seconds behind in 53.54 to take second place, while Bobbie-Gaye Wilkins-Gooden was third in 53.67.

But despite running a time that was almost a second quicker than her pre-2013 PB (51.64), McPherson – who hopes to make the World Championships team – was not completely satisfied with her performance. “I wanted to run a faster time, but the wind affected me,” said the 24-year-old.

World University Games champion Carrie Russell ran 11.07 (-0.5m/s), the second-fastest time in the world this year, to win the women's 100m ahead of Anneisha McLaughlin (11.39).

The 200m went to Schillonie Calvert, who clocked 23.57 (-1.6m/s) to win her heat, while 2009 World 400m bronze medallist Shericka Williams won the second heat in 23.70 (-1.3m/s) from 400m Hurdles specialist Kaliese Spencer (23.87).

Edino Steele won a very close men's 400m race over training partner Pete Mathews, 46.34 to 46.36. Andrea Bliss won the women's 100m Hurdles in 13.43 (-1.8m/s) ahead of Megan Simmonds (13.68) and Indira Spence (13.76).

Racers Track Club won three out of the four main relay events. Daniel Bailey, Michael Frater, Warren Weir and Kemar Bailey-Cole teamed up to win the men’s 4x100m in 39.35 while the women’s team took their event in 43.82. With individual 400m winner Steele on anchor, Racers Track Club won the men's 4x400m in 3:05.01.

Anthony Foster for the IAAF